Sign in with
Your question
Solved

$250 Budget, Need Help Selecting a GPU

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 4, 2013 8:09:57 AM

Alright, seems simple enough from the title - I have $250 budget for a GPU. One small thing is, though, my MoBo only supports Crossfire, not SLI.

I could get a better GPU going with Nvidia for around $250, or I was looking at the Radeon R9 270x as well, for about $200. Then, in a little while (4-6 months) I was thinking I could get a second R9 270x (or whatever) for about $200 again, and get much better performance out of it. I was liking this option over getting a better Nvidia card now, but then having to buy a new MoBo w/another card, or swapping for a card equivalent to a pair of Crossfire 270x's.

Just wanted to hear what everyone else thought about this situation, I am new to this afterall. I finally saw the light of the PC Master Race, and am in the process of slowly saving up and buying parts.
December 4, 2013 8:13:58 AM

GTX 760 2GB or 7950 3GB
though R9 270x perform great for its price and gives similar performance as above cards.
i would recommed R9 270x
m
l
December 4, 2013 8:16:58 AM

If you prefer Nvidia stuff, fear not! I too have a motherboard that does not support SLI, but, thanks to the world of computing, there's a workaround!

Hyper SLI (http://goo.gl/4vnYez) is a neat little tool which will make SLI work as it should on non compatible motherboards, works a treat and I haven't had any issues at all.

Whichever options you choose though, Nvidia or AMD, you'll still have a wicked system with 2 cards. Personally I think dual GPU solutions should be more readily available (like the ROG 760), so much performance for the price difference!
m
l
Related resources
December 4, 2013 8:25:27 AM

So for the long run, you think Nvidia GTX 760 would be the better choice? I've had graphics chips in my laptops that were always Nvidia, but I don't particularly have a preference.

Is the 760 worth the extra $50 or so?
m
l