6850 crossfire vs 7870

Bickering Whale

Honorable
Sep 6, 2013
I am in a bit of a dilemma right now, and I could use some advice. I am a 16 year old student with a part time job so I don't really earn that much. I already have a 6850. Should I get another 6850 and run it in crossfire?http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B004HKIA2Y/ref=dp_olp_refurbished?ie=UTF8&condition=refurbished
Or should I wait an extra month to get a used 7870 like this one
http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B00A2J4ROE/ref=sr_1_15_olp?ie=UTF8&qid=1386251847&sr=8-15&keywords=hd+7990&condition=used

Advice would be much appreciated :)

Solution

Bickering Whale

Honorable
Sep 6, 2013

Thanks for the advice. Newegg doesn't ship to Singapore, which is the country I live in, but I can get a third party postal service to cover that right? i am trying to keep a budget of 250 SGD and the conversion rate in 1USD=1.25SGD. The 7870 seems alright but should I go for the 270x instead? Is there a significant difference between them?

ah. sorry, i assumed you were in the u.s. i don't know about singapore prices for radeon cards, or shipping expenses.
7870 and r9 270x have the same gpu (r9 280x, 270x, r7 260x review):
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-r9-280x-r9-270x-r7-260x,3635-3.html
but r9 270x is clocked and configured slightly differently from 7870, but usually priced higher (in u.s.).

Bickering Whale

Honorable
Sep 6, 2013

Yep. It is more expensive here as well. I believe it costs about 280USD for the 270x here. In terms of performance, would the 7870 would beat a pair of 6850s? One is cheaper, while the other one is hassle free :/