$350 to $450 Build....

BW78

Honorable
Oct 25, 2013
First, let me thank you all for the very helpful and informative website.

I'm looking for a HTPC to use Windows Media Center as a DVR, rip Blu rays/DVDs, stream movies and music and surf the web.

I need a quad core processor. I would like Windows 7 because it comes with Windows Media Center. I would also prefer something that isn't too loud. And an SSD drive would be great, but I can upgrade that later. USB 3.0 would also be nice.

I have a 1TB WD Green in an external enclosure, an external pc tuner, an external blu ray/DVD RW drive, and wireless mouse and keyboard.

Also, is it really practical for me to build this since I've never done it before? If not, are there any pre built systems that come close to what I need?

Thanks again for your help. Here is the form...

Approximate Purchase Date: e.g.: within the next month

Budget Range: $350-$450 after rebates/after shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: DVR, streaming videos, watching HD tv, surfing the internet

Are you buying a monitor: No

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: none

Parts Preferences: none

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: don't know

Your Monitor Resolution: 50 inch HD TV

Additional Comments: I would like a quiet PC.

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: cutting cable cord

Solution
If your willing to rip out your 1tb HD from the enclosure and toss it into the computer we can get rid of the need for the harddrive purchase for now. Which give us just enough money to pick up an i5 which has the benefit of Quick Sync which will make ripping dvd/blu-rays a lot faster if your program uses it. This assuming we don't take the price of mail in rebates into consideration, but if we do that leaves close to $50 till we hit your budget so we can squeeze in a 1tb HD in there while stretching the budget slightly.

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2ihOF