Best 1155 Gaming Mobo?

xRayne

Distinguished
Dec 10, 2013
Hi there! I've started construction of my first system (buying bit by bit at this point) and I got my motherboard decision stonewalled by a last minute socket change thanks to a sale and the good gaming reputation of the i5-3570k CPU. At this point I'm looking for an 1150 motherboard good for overclocking; SLI is preferable but not a requirement. Form factor of ATX or mATX is preferable, but I don't mind upping to a full ATX tower for a good board. One thing I am calling a requirement is decent on-board audio. I do most of my gaming with a headset so I see little point in getting a sound card. I'm fairly new to building and pushing systems (this is my first build), so all help would be greatly appreciated. My budget is around $250, but I'm willing to go above and beyond if the argument shows better bang for buck.

I've set up an interim build to get this up and running as soon as possible with a final build down the line as I can afford components. If anything seems iffy or could use a change, feel free to say so. Anything that I haven't already purchased is free game.

Interim build:

Case: Storm Scout II Advanced
CPU: i5-3570k Ivy Bridge (Purchased) + Xigmatek Dark Knight Heatsink (Purchased)
GPU: Asus DirectCU II OC Nvidia GTX 780 (Purchased)
PSU: 750W Corsair
RAM: 16GB DDR3 G.SKILL Sniper @ 1600MHz (4x4GB) (Purchased)
Storage: 4TB Seagate SSHD
Monitor: 60Hz Asus sitting in my basement

Final Build:

Case: Storm Scout II Advanced
CPU: i5-3570k Ivy Bridge + Xigmatek Dark Knight Heatsink (Considering water cooling as well; but if so a self-enclosed unit, not a build-it-break-it-blow-up-in-your-face-it unit.)
GPU: Asus DirectCU II OC Nvidia GTX 780
PSU: Undecided 1000W/1200W Platinum Certified
RAM: 32GB DDR3 G.SKILL Trident X @ 1600MHz (4x8GB)
Storage: 250GB Samsung SDD + 2 4TB Seagate SSHD
Monitor: ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz