Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Opinions New PC Build

Last response: in Systems
Share
December 21, 2013 11:00:35 AM

I am new to PC gaming and after a month or so of researching I have come up with this build.

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6 core $109.99
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P ATX AM3+ $89.99
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Series 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 $79.99
Storage: Western Digital AV-GP 500GB 3.5" 5400RPM $44.99
GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X Toxic 3GB $389.99 (I suspect the price will drop once they are more avaible)
Power supply: Antec Neo Eco 620W 80+ Certified ATX
Total: $794.94

Any suggestions to make it better and or cheaper? I'd like here thoughts from more experienced PC gamers before I buy it so, all feedback is appreciated. Thank you in advance.
-Alex

More about : opinions build

December 21, 2013 11:04:13 AM

Do you already have an OS and case?
m
0
l
December 21, 2013 11:06:28 AM

nice build. the only thing i would add is an aftermarket heatsink since the included heatsink is crap. the hyper 212 evo is a good choice and inexpensive.
m
0
l
Related resources

Best solution

December 21, 2013 11:16:54 AM

I would go for this build:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($149.99 @ SuperBiiz)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($89.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($68.00 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: PNY GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($312.98 @ B&H)
Case: Enermax ECA3253-BW ATX Mid Tower Case ($36.72 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: XFX 650W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $807.63
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-12-21 14:15 EST-0500)

Share
December 21, 2013 11:35:33 AM

RazerZ

Yes I'm using an old full tower case and optical drive. My friend is letting me use his windows 7 disk. Why do you recommend the GTX 770? I had read that the reference 280x outperforms it.
m
0
l
December 21, 2013 2:22:03 PM

Do not get WD AV GP drives, they're mostly used in digital video recorders and not for desktops
Grab a 2x4GB stick to run in dual channel mode
m
0
l
December 21, 2013 5:00:54 PM

coolio895 said:
RazerZ

Yes I'm using an old full tower case and optical drive. My friend is letting me use his windows 7 disk. Why do you recommend the GTX 770? I had read that the reference 280x outperforms it.


It does, but you miss out on PhysX, consume more power, and you can sli nvidia cards smoothly, via graphics tearing issues with crossfire. I guess it doesn't matter though if you plan to use a single graphics card. Yea, just go ahead and swap it for a 280x :) 
m
0
l
December 21, 2013 6:14:29 PM

RazerZ
OK thank you. The savings I got from using the RAM HDD etc you suggested allowed me to put the cooler into my budget. I may end up going with your suggestion of the 770 just because the 280x is sold out just about every where. The only places where it isn't sold out, Its price is marked up dramatically. Also was Ip231's critisism of Western Digital drives reasonable or should I keep it in my build?
m
0
l
December 21, 2013 6:52:47 PM

coolio895 said:
RazerZ
OK thank you. The savings I got from using the RAM HDD etc you suggested allowed me to put the cooler into my budget. I may end up going with your suggestion of the 770 just because the 280x is sold out just about every where. The only places where it isn't sold out, Its price is marked up dramatically. Also was Ip231's critisism of Western Digital drives reasonable or should I keep it in my build?


That's up to you. For $15 more you are getting a faster hard drive with 500gb more storage so in my opinion I would just go for the HDD in the build I posted. And since you said you already have a case you can take that out of the price.
m
0
l
December 21, 2013 7:57:08 PM

OK. I opted to use your build but drop the case and swap out the 770 for a 280x toxic. It's a tad out of my price range right now. I'm considering dropping the 8350 for a 6300 to bring the price down. However I may not have to once 280x prices come back down. Thank you so much for helping me out in such a timely fashion.
m
0
l
December 21, 2013 8:24:04 PM

I know that this post is already solved, but might I add that you'll get 3 free games with the gtx 770 (splinter cell black list, assassins creed 4, and batman Markham origins) just something to consider.
m
0
l
December 22, 2013 4:39:40 PM

Will Dano I considered that but only arkham origins interests me.
m
0
l
!