Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

New at building a PC, Could use an experienced opinion or 2

Tags:
Last response: in Systems
Share
December 29, 2013 2:13:11 PM

Hello guys

I have come up with a list of parts to build my own PC, but I am unsure if what I've chosen goes together, or if I chose quality parts. I did reviews and researched a bit, but before I begin spending money, I would really like to make sure what I've chose works, and is worth it.

I wasn't sure what all information I should take down when creating this list.. So I kinda just took everything down.

Case - AZZA Hurrican 2000R SAZ-2000R Black (exterior)/Red (interior) SECC Japanese Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
SECC Japanese Steel ATX Full Tower
• 1x USB 3.0, 2xUSB 2.0, e-SATA, Audio, Mic Front Ports
• 4 External 5.25" Drive Bays
• 6 (4x Easy Swap 3.5" Drive Bays) Internal 3.5" Drive Bays - $150

Windows 8.1 $125

Processor - Intel Core i7-4770K Haswell 3.5GHz LGA 1150 84W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics BX80646I74770K
Series: Core i7
L3 Cache: 8MB
Manufacturing Tech: 22 nm
64 bit Support: Yes
Model #: BX80646I74770K
Item #: N82E16819116901 - $300

Motherboard - KillerE2200, Military ClassIV, OC Genie, CrossFire MSI Z87-G43 GAMING LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Number of Memory Slots: 4×240pin
Memory Standard: DDR3 3000(OC)/2800(OC)/2666(OC)/2600(OC)/ 2400(OC)/2200(OC)/2133(OC)/2000(OC)/1866(OC)/1600/1333/1066
PCI Express 3.0 x16: 1
Onboard Video Chipset: Supported only by CPU with integrated graphic
Model #: Z87-G43 GAMING
Item #: N82E16813130726 - $145

Graphics Card - Free 3 games w/ purchase, limited offer MSI Gaming N770 TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 770 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 SLI Support Video Card
Chipset Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Core Clock: 1137 MHz
Boost Clock: 1198 MHz
CUDA Cores: 1536
Model #: N770 TF 2GD5/OC
Item #: N82E16814127741 - $300

Memory (RAM) - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL
Cas Latency: 9
Voltage: 1.5V
Multi-channel Kit: Dual Channel Kit
Timing: 9-10-9-28
Model #: F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL
Item #: N82E16820231455 - $86

Power Supply - CORSAIR CX series CX600 600W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
ATX12V v2.3
• 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
• 100 - 240 V 47 - 63 Hz
• +3.3V@25A, +5V@25A, +12V@46A, -12V@0.8A, +5VSB@3.0A - $70


HDD (Storage) - Western Digital WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
7200 RPM 64MB Cache
SATA 6.0Gb/s
For Power Computing - $90

Optical Drive - ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS - OEM
24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X ...
16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM
1.5MB Cache - $20


- $1436


If I could get any comments or advice I would greatly appreciate it!
Thanks!
December 29, 2013 2:21:01 PM

Before I comment on your build, what is you maximum budget and what do you plan on using the rig for? Will you need a keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, etc.?
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 2:25:44 PM

My max is 1,500. I plan on using it for gaming. And yes I will need a mouse and keyboard. but I can handle the accessories
m
0
l
Related resources
December 29, 2013 2:30:43 PM

First off, if this is going to be a mainly gaming build, I suggest you drop down to an i5 4670k CPU and save some cash that can be used in other parts of your build. And if you don't plan to overclock, you can save a few dollars by getting the non-"k" CPU (since the "k" series are for overclocking.

Will you need a monitor?

edit: Do you have a Micro Center store near you?
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 2:33:58 PM

I would upgrade the PSU to Corsair TX 650W (if you intend to stay with one GTX 770) or to Corsair TX 850W (if you intend to add a second GTX 770 later). The CX 600W would do, but it's lower quality than the TX series.

I would buy 2x8GB RAM. 8GB are enough for most games out there today, but with 16GB you can safely leave your FireFox running while gaming, and you're covered for future games too.

You need an aftermarket cooler for best results. Personally I put a Corsair H80i on my i7-4770k.

Your budget seems very good, and yet you've got a 1TB hard drive there... Most people would get a 240GB SSD for Windows and programs. I'm not saying you have to do this, but it would be nice if you can afford it. Or at least upgrade to the 2TB Caviar Black because it's faster than the 1TB Caviar Black. I've actually had both types myself in an old PC and it is a noticeable difference.
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 2:39:31 PM

I assume you plan to overclock with your CPU and mb choice. You should get an external cooler.

Toss out that budget PSU and get the XFX 650W http://pcpartpicker.com/part/xfx-power-supply-p1650snlb...

Lower the CPU to the I5 unless you plan on doing alot of video editing.
If you do plan on doing alot of video editing then increase the memory to 16Gb.

Add a 120GB SSD. Toms has articles on the best SSD for the money.
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 2:40:59 PM

animal said:
Before I comment on your build, what is you maximum budget and what do you plan on using the rig for? Will you need a keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, etc.?


animal said:
First off, if this is going to be a mainly gaming build, I suggest you drop down to an i5 4670k CPU and save some cash that can be used in other parts of your build. And if you don't plan to overclock, you can save a few dollars by getting the non-"k" CPU (since the "k" series are for overclocking.

Will you need a monitor?

edit: Do you have a Micro Center store near you?


I don't need a monitor. I'm going to use my HDTV.
Also, I'm not entirely sure what "overclocking" means. Like I said, I'm new to this.

m
0
l
December 29, 2013 2:42:12 PM

Well if you aren't OC then you can get a cheaper CPU and mb.
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 2:55:11 PM

jnkweaver said:
Well if you aren't OC then you can get a cheaper CPU and mb.


I don't know if I will OC. I plan on playing new games often, streaming movies online and such. Will Overclocking be beneficial to me? I have no clue what I'm doing!! Haha. If not, and it's recommended, I will get a cheaper Processor. Should I still get 8 GBS or should I go with 16?

m
0
l
December 29, 2013 3:01:24 PM

With 1500 as a budget this is what I would go with using your case, gpu, cpu choices which are all good but this would add the SSD for the OS and gives you the 1 TB for storage and 16gb of ram
PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2skNk
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2skNk/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2skNk/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($299.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($89.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($159.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($157.40 @ Amazon)
Storage: Intel 320 Series 160GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($113.94 @ Amazon)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($334.99 @ NCIX US)
Case: Azza Hurrican 2000R ATX Full Tower Case ($124.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair CX 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($16.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($88.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1497.23
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-12-29 17:58 EST-0500)
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 3:06:24 PM

O.C. is not really needed. Its nice and it wouldn't hurt to play but not something I recommend a noob hop into take it slow build the system and then read up on O.C. Everything I recommended can be O.C. safely and is a good way too learn so later you can really push it without blowing anything
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 3:15:05 PM

tyranthoth said:
With 1500 as a budget this is what I would go with using your case, gpu, cpu choices which are all good but this would add the SSD for the OS and gives you the 1 TB for storage and 16gb of ram
PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2skNk
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2skNk/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2skNk/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($299.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($89.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($159.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($157.40 @ Amazon)
Storage: Intel 320 Series 160GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($113.94 @ Amazon)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($334.99 @ NCIX US)
Case: Azza Hurrican 2000R ATX Full Tower Case ($124.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair CX 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($16.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($88.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1497.23
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-12-29 17:58 EST-0500)


I would probablyo with windows 8. Unless there is some flaw with them and gaming computers?
Also, the liquid cooling system, is that something that's difficult to install? No clue how that would work. Fans
sound so much simpler.
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 4:19:44 PM

Also. The Optical Drive. What should I get? I am most likely going to get the Tower I listed, will any optical drive fit into it? Not really looking to watch blu ray or anything. but do I need something fancy to play games?
m
0
l
December 29, 2013 4:23:11 PM

I probably plan on getting windows 8. or 8.1.. Is there a certain one I should get? I noticed that there is more than just one.. I dunno if one is better for a gaming pc than the other
m
0
l

Best solution

December 30, 2013 10:58:05 AM

Windows 8 does have a few cpu handling updates but I would go with 8.1 if your going with Windows 8. It a least has the start button re-added. As far as optical drives are concerned unless I am doing a HTPC I usual stick with the basic DVD writers for install the games that you don't download and back-up to dvd, creating ISO etc. that is why I went with the asus drive that is under $20. The Asus drive is a standard size that will fit in any ATX, microATX case.
Share
!