Help with a $600 build for my son?

dadofgamer

Honorable
Jan 4, 2014
My son has an Alienware i3-2xxxM CPU (1.6 Ghz) with 4GB ram and GTX540 GPU. He gets about 20 FPS on mid-range settings in WoW on this computer.

We want to build a desktop that gets at least 40 FPS on mid settings. We came up with this build:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2vKcF

(We have keyboard, mouse, monitor, headphones).

Questions:
1. Is the build satisfactory? (ie do I have all the pieces? I am a novice).
2. Will this achieve our target of 40 FPS on mid settings?
3. If not, what is the minimum tweak that will (CPU, GPU, RAM, or ....??)

I hear that an i5 with the 650ti and 8 Gb is a good gaming rig. So my central question is, how much performance is lost by kicking back to the i3 with 4 Gb??

Thanks so much. Would love to introduce my son to electronics by building this with him - but only if it achieves the results we are looking for.

World of Warcraft is a game that isn't well threaded so it doesn't seem to take advantage of multiple cores well.

Thus, it does much better in INTEL CPU's like the one you've mentioned. I couldn't find an i3 benchmark but you can see this by comparing two different ones:
1) core scaling: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/world-of-warcraft-cataclysm-directx-11-performance,2793-9.html
2) AMD vs Intel: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-i7-3970x-sandy-bridge-e-benchmark,3348-13.html

This may vary slightly based on other parameters but it appears that putting the budget towards that CPU is best to save money for other parts.

I'll just post this, then look at your build a bit more.

fulge1638

Honorable
May 20, 2013

The build looks good as it is, but I would definately drop the sound card and use that money to get more ram (2x4gb kit) or a better gpu. If you stick with 4gb of ram though, get a 2x2gb dual channel kit.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2vNoz

My BUILD is above. It was $34 more than yours, and it requires some explanation.

1) Motherboard: