Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Need a review and some suggestions on my gamer desktop setup.

Last response: in Components
Share
January 5, 2014 4:28:43 PM

Hello. I was wondering how this looked so far on my gaming desktop build. I really need some suggestions on the CPU cooler, motherboard, and if the thermal compound brand matters. Another question I have is, I'm going to be adding more fans to the case so do I need a bigger motherboard or does it just run straight off the power source. Also, does the case seem like it has enough room for all of this? My budget is around $1100-$1200 with very little wiggle room. Here is the link to my build so far. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2whsK ---- That has everything besides the parts I mentioned.
a b V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
January 5, 2014 4:32:27 PM

Do you want to go air cooling or liquid cooling? I use Arctic Silver 5 but there are other good thermal paste brands out there. You can run fans straight from power source just cannot control their speed. Mid-tower cases are a little to tight for me, I prefer Full-Tower cases, but I don't know if you want a VERY large tower or not you tell me?
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2014 4:33:27 PM

Hi Skrad,

You have a very solid build going for you as it seems right now! CPU cooling and thermal compound are both matters of preference. Do you plan on overclocking or staying at stock speeds, and are you willing to fuss with water cooling or insistent on staying with air?

On the topic of fans; all modern fans are going to be powered by Molex connectors. These come directly from a power supply and yours has plenty. So you will be able to add plenty of fans in the future!

I'll keep an eye on the post and if you answer the air vs water and overclock question then I'll be back to help you! PM me if you need anything extra.

- Caleb
m
0
l
Related resources
January 5, 2014 4:45:13 PM

Jeez, one of the fastest replies I have ever seen. What do you mean "fuss with liquid cooling"? Are there issues with it? On, overclocking... I would first have to learn how, but in the future I would like too. If I remember right, liquid cooling is a better way to cool the CPU? If so, I'd like that.. depending on the cost.
m
0
l
January 5, 2014 4:46:46 PM

And on the case, I'd prefer the case I had chosen. But if you don't think I will have enough room, I will gladly reconsider. (Not meaning to be rude on the first part if it comes across as that)
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
January 5, 2014 4:49:57 PM

You could get an H100i and put it in the top of your case as you can put 2 120mm fans there it should fit this radiator. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2wj3e
m
0
l
January 5, 2014 4:54:10 PM

Looks good, but wouldn't adding a motherboard top it over $1200?
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
January 5, 2014 5:04:20 PM

Agree that the H90 is not a bad choice
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2014 5:06:21 PM

Also on the issue of the "fuss", it doesn't have any issues. It's just another thing you need to learn to install. If you don't mind a few minutes of studying a manual then you won't have any issues! I always warn people that it is a LITTLE more complex.
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2014 5:07:54 PM

Skrad said:
Jeez, one of the fastest replies I have ever seen. What do you mean "fuss with liquid cooling"? Are there issues with it? On, overclocking... I would first have to learn how, but in the future I would like too. If I remember right, liquid cooling is a better way to cool the CPU? If so, I'd like that.. depending on the cost.


Depend if you just want a cool and quiet cpu a hyper 212 is a better choice.
I only suggest water cooler if you want to do some major overclocking.
PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2wjOQ
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2wjOQ/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2wjOQ/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.99 @ NCIX US)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($27.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: MSI Z87-G43 Gaming ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($139.98 @ OutletPC)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($68.00 @ Newegg)
Storage: Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($82.02 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.99 @ Amazon)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Video Card ($259.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: NZXT Phantom (Black/Green) ATX Full Tower Case ($100.98 @ Amazon)
Power Supply: Corsair CX 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($64.99 @ Microcenter)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($88.98 @ OutletPC)
Keyboard: Rosewill RK-201 Wired Standard Keyboard ($6.99 @ Amazon)
Mouse: V7 M30P10-7N Wired Optical Mouse ($4.39 @ Mwave)
Speakers: Cyber Acoustics CA-2014WB 1.5W 2ch Speakers ($10.98 @ OutletPC)
Headphones: Sony MDRZX300/RED Headphones ($21.99 @ Adorama)
Total: $1187.22
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-01-05 20:12 EST-0500)
m
0
l
January 5, 2014 5:09:27 PM

I like the Corsair H90. Probably will go with that one since I can add an LED fan also. However, what about the motherboard? It seems when I look up motherboards, I see bad reviews.
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2014 5:10:50 PM

Yes air is a better choice for most users. Personally I like to have the opportunity to do things like overclocking down the road!
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
January 5, 2014 5:12:06 PM

Around the price range the PRO4 is a good mobo, if you are willing to spend a bit more then go for this: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2wjOb

My friend just used this mobo in his build in loves it
m
0
l
January 5, 2014 5:12:15 PM

Also, at the point where I'm at, (First time building a pc) I was going to ask if either of you could suggest a really good tutorial on how to hook one up. I'd rather not screw up any parts, but I'm willing to read/watch how to put one together even if it takes me a week.
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2014 5:13:43 PM

The motherboard was in one of my old builds. I loved it, and upon checking new-egg reviews they all seem fine.
m
0
l
January 5, 2014 5:13:51 PM

Well, I could always just buy a few normal fans and then upgrade when I want to overclock? Does that seem like a good route to go? In your opinions.
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
January 5, 2014 5:14:05 PM

Around the price range the PRO4 is a good mobo, if you are willing to spend a bit more then go for this: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2wjOb

My friend just used this mobo in his build in loves it
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2014 5:14:47 PM

Skrad said:
Also, at the point where I'm at, (First time building a pc) I was going to ask if either of you could suggest a really good tutorial on how to hook one up. I'd rather not screw up any parts, but I'm willing to read/watch how to put one together even if it takes me a week.


I'm willing to make a video for you if you want. Otherwise, check out Linus Tech Tips on youtube. His builds are very informative and sectioned.
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2014 5:15:38 PM

Skrad said:
Also, at the point where I'm at, (First time building a pc) I was going to ask if either of you could suggest a really good tutorial on how to hook one up. I'd rather not screw up any parts, but I'm willing to read/watch how to put one together even if it takes me a week.

Newegg make great tutorial video on building pc.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPIXAtNGGCw
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
January 5, 2014 5:15:50 PM

This is a pretty good guide http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJlr_0ingWY

But if you google PC building guide or something along those lines you will find a ton of them

That Newegg build guide is a really good one toO!
m
0
l
January 5, 2014 5:24:08 PM

Cj, whatever you have time for. If it would be a pain then don't worry about it. If so, I'll watch it multiple times if it gives me a good idea of where to start. I do still have to order all of the parts though.

Also, I will take a look at the newegg tutorial and see if it names off any "Do not do" mistakes and hopefully it will give me a better understand of where to start.
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
January 5, 2014 5:26:10 PM

It looks like a daunting task when you first look at it, but once you do a little research and start building it you see that it isn't so bad
m
0
l

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
January 5, 2014 5:27:21 PM

It really is pretty easy. I'll probably make a video in the next day or two and I'll PM you a link ASAP
Share
January 5, 2014 5:38:22 PM

Alright. That works for me. I really do appreciate the help. I'm guessing there isn't a way to pick two solutions is there? You both helped me out a lot.
m
0
l
!