Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Gaming pc build for bf4 please review

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
Share
January 6, 2014 4:26:49 AM


Hey I am building my first gaming pc hopefully for under 1500 this is what I am currently thinking of using. Please feel free to suggest diffrent parts

Power supply: Corsair RM-750 80 Plus Gold Power Supply $189
Motherboard: ASUS Z87-C Motherboard $155
Graphics card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 OC Edition 4GB Splinter Cell $489
CPU: Intel core I5 4670k. $269
Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD8GX3M2A1866C9 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3. $165
Harddrive: Western Digital AV-GP 1TB WD10EURX. $89
Cooling: CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler. $45
Cd drive: Pioneer DVR-220LBKS Black 24x DVDRW OEM. $22
Operating system: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit with SP1 OEM. $109

Also I am looking for a realtive cheap case to fit this

Thank you:) 
January 6, 2014 4:35:19 AM

if u are looking for case,i think cooler master HAF series suit for u
m
0
l
January 6, 2014 4:40:45 AM

If you are running on anything less than Triple 1080p monitors (which includes 1440p or 2560x1600), you will get absolutely no use out of the 4GB edition of that card, and it looks like you could save over $100 by going with a good 2GB version. You can use that money to get a not-crappy case, because a good case is an investment on your computer, and a bad one can ruin your build.

Personally, I use a Rosewill Thor V2. It's on newegg for about $130, has all the ports you could want, great fans, airflow, and built-in fan control, and is very spacious inside. All this awesomeness comes at a price (and not just a few parts being cheap plastic to keep the price down) however, as the thing is huge, and if you don't have a lot of space near the desk, it doesn't do you much good.

If you don't intend to overclock, which you really won't need to, you can probably save about $80 by going with the non-k chip and sticking with the stock cooler (which would be fine in that case). If you do overclock, though, you've already got the best parts.

...That memory, though... you are -really- overpaying for 8GB... and 8GB is 8GB. You will be running into hard faults (where your computer has to read memory from the hard drive). You'd be better off getting generic 16GB at 1600 speeds for roughly the same price (or probably less). Especially with newer and future games that will require 64-bit.

Actually, on newegg, this is -cheaper- and the same speed, for -double- the RAM on one of the most highly recommended brands: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
0
l
Related resources
January 6, 2014 4:45:49 AM

buy windows 8
m
0
l
January 6, 2014 4:49:18 AM

Omegaclawe if I get the 2gb version will that affect my graphics at all??

If you can't tell I am a bit off a noob and this is my first one so I don't know much
m
0
l
a b ) Power supply
a b V Motherboard
January 6, 2014 5:02:44 AM

I agree with Omegaclawe. When it comes to memory speed, there are very little improvements over the standard 1333 or 1600 MHz. High frequency memory isn't needed unless you are doing some serious overclocking for benchmarks. Furthermore, 16 GB isn't needed for gaming. You will literally be wasting money if you buy 16GB for gaming as no game on the market will come even close to half that. If you plan on spending sometime on video editing or 3D rendering, than 16 GB is warranted.

Where are you buying your parts from? 189.99 for a that PSU is high. Australia?
m
0
l
January 6, 2014 12:52:24 PM

barto said:
I agree with Omegaclawe. When it comes to memory speed, there are very little improvements over the standard 1333 or 1600 MHz. High frequency memory isn't needed unless you are doing some serious overclocking for benchmarks. Furthermore, 16 GB isn't needed for gaming. You will literally be wasting money if you buy 16GB for gaming as no game on the market will come even close to half that. If you plan on spending sometime on video editing or 3D rendering, than 16 GB is warranted.

Where are you buying your parts from? 189.99 for a that PSU is high. Australia?


While you might not show 8gb "in use" in the task manager, your system will be using more than 8GB, with standby memory and page files and the like. 8GB is a -minimum- for gaming now, and 64-bit games will use 6GB or -more- on their own directly. In fact, most of the minimum settings for the ports from next gen consoles require a minimum of 8, and it will only get worse from there.

In any case, even if it isn't "required", windows will use that extra memory on going to 16GB. Notably, it will vastly increase effective hard drive speeds (since very low writes to the page file).

-----

2GB will run exactly the same speed as 4GB on that video card unless you are operating at either 4k or Multi-monitor resolutions... and if you were doing either of those, you would want a better card anyway, like the GTX 780 which would be very close in price. The reason there is no improvement is because memory bandwidth isn't increased when doubling the amount of RAM on these cards, and that card will probably never even have to use more than 1GB at a time.
m
0
l

Best solution

January 6, 2014 12:57:33 PM

Unless running a big resolution monitor or multi-monitor setup or playing a game using 4k textures your GPU won't even access the extra 2 GB's for anything. Using a 2gb at 1080p is more than sufficient and will run great.
Share
!