Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Opinions wanted on this rig

Last response: in Components
Share
January 6, 2014 6:24:29 PM

I went out and bought parts for a new gaming pc and just finished building it, and wanted some opinions of the machines performance.

Case:Antec GX700
CPU:Intel Quadcore i5 4670K 3.4GHz Haswell
Ram:2 sticks of 4GB from Ballistix
Motherboard: Z87-G41 PC Mate
GPU: Nvidia GTX660ti, MSI Twin Frozor 3 version
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
PSU:Corsair 750W

Total cost" $925 with $40 worth of rebates

Also, would it be normal for this to cost around the $800-$1000 range?

More about : opinions wanted rig

a c 265 4 Gaming
January 6, 2014 6:27:48 PM

Yes solid build. Don't forget to pick up a solid cpu cooler!
m
0
l
January 6, 2014 8:18:10 PM

CTurbo said:
Yes solid build. Don't forget to pick up a solid cpu cooler!


Is it really necessary? I've just played the Metro:Last Light that came with the GPU on high, and I only reached 71 celsius. I thought that was normal, right?
m
0
l
Related resources
a c 265 4 Gaming
January 6, 2014 8:30:25 PM

If you want to overclock, YES.

If you don't want to overclock, save yourself a lot of money and get a "regular" 4670 and a B85 motherboard.
m
0
l
January 6, 2014 8:31:50 PM

Mirnes said:
CTurbo said:
Yes solid build. Don't forget to pick up a solid cpu cooler!


Is it really necessary? I've just played the Metro:Last Light that came with the GPU on high, and I only reached 71 celsius. I thought that was normal, right?


72degrees is considered the max. Get a solid cooler. They are not that expensive.

That CPU should be 28-35 degrees when idle, 47 to 60 degrees when normal and 72 at the max.


m
0
l
January 6, 2014 9:19:22 PM

CTurbo said:
If you want to overclock, YES.

If you don't want to overclock, save yourself a lot of money and get a "regular" 4670 and a B85 motherboard.


I'm still a bit new a this, so no overclocking yet. The gpu is was factory overclocked, and I've heard some people say that overcloking doesn't give a very big boost. Also, air or water cooling? (Honestly, I'm paranoid that a water cooling system might leak and fry the computer)
m
0
l
a c 265 4 Gaming
January 6, 2014 9:33:19 PM

Air cooling is plenty. Cooler Master 212 is the most popular option.
m
0
l
January 8, 2014 6:17:06 PM

CTurbo said:
Air cooling is plenty. Cooler Master 212 is the most popular option.


How much of a boost should I expect from overclocking? And also, if the GPU was factory overclocked, can it be overclocked any further?
m
0
l

Best solution

a c 265 4 Gaming
January 8, 2014 6:58:42 PM

The 4670k is already the most powerful i5 on the market. You probably won't even need to overclock it, but the option will at least be there down the road when you need some extra oomph. Overclocking it about 10% will make a pretty good boost in performance.
Share
January 9, 2014 3:14:55 PM

CTurbo said:
The 4670k is already the most powerful i5 on the market. You probably won't even need to overclock it, but the option will at least be there down the road when you need some extra oomph. Overclocking it about 10% will make a pretty good boost in performance.


That makes me think that I could overclock it by more than 10%. Can I, or would there be problems?
Also, is there a game with so high requirements that it simply wouldn't play on my computer?
m
0
l
a c 265 4 Gaming
January 9, 2014 3:34:42 PM

You likely can. Not all 4670ks are created equal. I say 10% would be on the low end. I'm sure with proper cooling you could get up to at least 4.4-4.5ghz which would be like 16-18% increase over turbo clocks.
m
0
l
January 12, 2014 5:12:19 PM

CTurbo said:
You likely can. Not all 4670ks are created equal. I say 10% would be on the low end. I'm sure with proper cooling you could get up to at least 4.4-4.5ghz which would be like 16-18% increase over turbo clocks.


Well, I'm going to try to overclock it. Any tips/warnings from your past experience?
m
0
l
a c 265 4 Gaming
January 12, 2014 5:35:55 PM

Honestly, the biggest tip I can give you is DON"T overclock at all until you REALLY know what you're doing. I don't have any hands on experience with the 4670k specifically, but luckily there are hundreds of posts out there about overclocking it. I have overclocked some 2nd and 3rd gen i5s and i7s though and they're pretty straight forward. It's all going to depend on which motherboard and cooling setup you get.
m
0
l
!