Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Custom $600 Gaming PC, Need an Experts Opinion

Last response: in Computer Brands
Share
January 9, 2014 12:49:45 AM

Hi Tom's Hardware, I'm New to the "Gaming PC" trend and was looking to make one. On PCpartpicker I compiled this part list, could anyone tell me any disadvantages of it?

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Ostrich_kicks_ass/saved/#s...

Thanks

BTW my max budget is $650

Best solution

January 9, 2014 1:01:52 AM

seems like a pretty solid budget build to me, you made sure there is a lot of room to upgrde.
if you plan on doing overclocking and/or SLI you may want to get a bigger power supply
Share
January 9, 2014 1:08:56 AM

I dunno about that GPU though, GT 640 isn't very tough, but on that monitor I suppose it'd work. You'd probably be better off with the 1GB version though, if it's cheaper by a large margin.
m
0
l
Related resources
January 9, 2014 1:21:19 AM

I'm fairly new myself but i thought i might as well share a little bit of my opinion with ya, the first thing I noticed is that the Hanspree monitor is tiny as hell not the best option for a gaming PC in my opinion. I know because i bought the same monitor about a week ago for my second build and i hated it, so i returned within just a couple of days of using it.
for the motherboard i think you should go with a mirco atx to save a little more money for a bigger monitor

how about this build:
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2yh9W
m
0
l
January 9, 2014 6:46:52 PM

Konnefke said:
seems like a pretty solid budget build to me, you made sure there is a lot of room to upgrde.
if you plan on doing overclocking and/or SLI you may want to get a bigger power supply


Thanks for the advice I had a $20 left from all the other mods other people suggested and spent it on the "Kingwin 650W BTX Power Supply".

Thanks for the Help!
m
0
l
January 9, 2014 6:50:19 PM

peanutreaper486 said:
I dunno about that GPU though, GT 640 isn't very tough, but on that monitor I suppose it'd work. You'd probably be better off with the 1GB version though, if it's cheaper by a large margin.


Thank you, I changed the Monitor to an "Samsung E1920X 18.5" one and changed the GPU to a high quality PNY GeForce GTX 650 1GB Video Card, I just wanted to know was that the right choice?
m
0
l
January 9, 2014 7:05:29 PM

Havik IV said:
I'm fairly new myself but i thought i might as well share a little bit of my opinion with ya, the first thing I noticed is that the Hanspree monitor is tiny as hell not the best option for a gaming PC in my opinion. I know because i bought the same monitor about a week ago for my second build and i hated it, so i returned within just a couple of days of using it.
for the motherboard i think you should go with a mirco atx to save a little more money for a bigger monitor

how about this build:
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2yh9W


Thanks, you're suggestion on the monitor probably saved me a lot of time and effort!!! I am now going towards a
Samsung E1920X 18.5". Thanks for your advice and suggestion, but I want to have that the feeling that I constructed and planned the computer.

m
0
l
January 9, 2014 11:50:54 PM

I forgot to mention that you could save that $82.99 if you choose to torrent windows 7 instead of buying it like i did, and put that towards buying maybe bigger HHD or better monitor, and speaking of monitors, the Samsung monitor I mention in my earlier post, you won't be able to play Battlefield 4 at 1920x1080 since that monitor can only handle a maximum resolution of 1360x768. If you're dead set on playing at 1920x1080 how about this monitor instead http://pcpartpicker.com/part/aoc-monitor-e2251swdn
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 2:42:30 PM

u_gonna_squeal_b4_we_cookya said:
Havik IV said:
I forgot to mention that you could save that $82.99 if you choose to torrent windows 7 instead of buying it like i did, and put that towards buying maybe bigger HHD or better monitor, and speaking of monitors, the Samsung monitor I mention in my earlier post, you won't be able to play Battlefield 4 at 1920x1080 since that monitor can only handle a maximum resolution of 1360x768. If you're dead set on playing at 1920x1080 how about this monitor instead http://pcpartpicker.com/part/aoc-monitor-e2251swdn

:no: 


Sorry :( 
m
0
l
!