Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Opinion on 1st Custom PC build.

Last response: in Components
Share
January 10, 2014 11:20:23 AM

I am building my first custom PC for gaming and I just wanted to make sure that all my parts are compatible and will work together. Also if you have something you would recommend please tell me.
Here is the link to the part picker:
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/AGallegos/saved/3oCU

Thanks!
January 10, 2014 11:32:14 AM

I can see many items were not even priced lol o_O

anyways give us some highlight on your budget!

m
0
l
January 10, 2014 11:32:25 AM

AGallegos said:
I am building my first custom PC and I just wanted to make sure that all my parts are compatible and will work together. Also if you have something you would recommend please tell me.
Here is the link to the part picker:
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/AGallegos/saved/3oCU

Thanks!


First, what are you wanting to do with this system? Just gaming or some other things?

The cooler you have listed is just slightly better than the stock cooler. This is about $12 more but I would recommend a Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus. It is arguably one of the top air coolers and you can't beat it for the price. Having that cooler will keep things nice and cool and allow for some overclocking should you choose to do so. http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Hyper-Plus-RR-B10-2...

m
0
l
Related resources
January 10, 2014 11:38:50 AM

Niko_boy said:
I can see many items were not even priced lol o_O

anyways give us some highlight on your budget!



The parts that don't have any price are one that I already have, Sorry!
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 11:44:03 AM

AGallegos said:
Niko_boy said:
I can see many items were not even priced lol o_O

anyways give us some highlight on your budget!



The parts that don't have any price are one that I already have, Sorry!


OH! nice way to mention them tbh! anyways please mention the maximum funds you can get
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 11:46:24 AM

If you can spend $20 more, I would suggest you to buy Powercolor R9 270x. A superb card much better than 660 + Mantle support which claims to raise over 45% in Battlefield 4.
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 11:47:42 AM

AlexSmith96 said:
If you can spend $20 more, I would suggest you to buy Powercolor R9 270x. A superb card much better than 660 + Mantle support which claims to raise over 45% in Battlefield 4.


660 yes isnt really worth it.
get a 270x atleast or 7850 like.
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 11:47:50 AM

Niko_boy said:
AGallegos said:
Niko_boy said:
I can see many items were not even priced lol o_O

anyways give us some highlight on your budget!



The parts that don't have any price are one that I already have, Sorry!


OH! nice way to mention them tbh! anyways please mention the maximum funds you can get


The max funds I can spend is $400-$450. And also this will be for gaming and some video editing.
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 11:50:03 AM

You dont seem to have a big budget. But here are some things I would change about that build :

- I think a single 1 TB HDD would be enough to store your OS, programs and games. Save some money by getting rid of the other 750 GB HDD.

- EVGA is not a good brand for power supplies. Instead, look at more trusted brands like Seasonic or XFX. Anything from these two brands will perform way better than the one from EVGA.

- The amount of RAM is perfect, but for the same price, I think you could get better quality sticks from brands like Kingston, Corsair or Patriot.

- The case is matter of preference, but in your case, I would really suggest that you put a little more in it. For like 20$ more, you could get a Corsair Carbide 200R which is a bang for your buck in this price range.

- For a bit more, you could change your GTX 660 to a GTX 760 and get a huge boost in performance.
m
0
l

Best solution

January 10, 2014 11:50:15 AM

I would change the motherboard and cooler. Get a true 900-series mobo. Check out the spreadsheet at https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0Ag... to see which boards to AVOID because of potential VRM problems. Also, note that "960," "980," and "970DE" motherboards may be liar-labeled 700-series chipset boards with modern sockets tacked onto them.
For the cooler, I use and recommend the Xigmatek Gaia over the more often parroted but slightly inferior Hyper212 EVO:
http://www.techreaction.net/2011/07/07/review-xigmatek-...
http://www.techreaction.net/2011/11/27/review-cooler-ma...

Unlike the Hyper212 EVO (ignore the URL; it IS the EVO they tested), the Gaia never throttled, although it wasn't always the coolest depending on the fan used. Both got awards, but the Gaia is usually cheaper as well, making it the better choice. NZXT also has a new 120mm tower cooler that is even cheaper than these; I'd expect performance to be similar (within 2C-3C). It isn't that the Hyper212 EVO is a bad cooler, it's a bang/buck LOSER.
Edit: The EVGA PSU reviewed quite well at Jonnyguru; keep it.
HD7850 <= GTX650Ti Boost < GTX660 < R9-270. As to Mantle, after the Bulldozer fiasco, I'd take any performance claims from AMD with a sack of salt until reviews and benchmarks are out. Be aware that a lot of higher-end AMD cards are selling at or above MSRP due to high demand from Litecoin miners.

Share
January 10, 2014 11:51:09 AM

Your total after adding the 270x becomes $420. You'll not regret your decision. 270x is a newer and way better than 660, it even competes with $250 GTX 760.
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 11:54:15 AM

This seem a better build.
7850 is best for your budget and you need atleast 8320 for HIGH LEVEL of video editing stuff.

CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($149.99 @ TigerDirect)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper TX3 54.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($20.69 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 Micro ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($49.99 @ Microcenter)
Video Card: Asus Radeon HD 7850 2GB Video Card ($165.91 @ Newegg)
Case: Rosewill Galaxy-01 ATX Mid Tower Case ($29.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: EVGA 500W 80+ Certified ATX Power Supply ($34.99 @ Microcenter)
Total: $451.56
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)

however if you are more to gaming and just moderate editing and rendering :
this is much better because it has a better GPU!!

overclock FX 6300 its great when overclocked for rendering and stock will be enough for gaming !

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($109.99 @ TigerDirect)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper TX3 54.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($20.69 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 Micro ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($49.99 @ Microcenter)
Video Card: MSI Radeon R9 270X 2GB Video Card ($223.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Rosewill Galaxy-01 ATX Mid Tower Case ($29.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: EVGA 500W 80+ Certified ATX Power Supply ($34.99 @ Microcenter)
Total: $469.63
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 12:00:34 PM

Oleonius said:
You dont seem to have a big budget. But here are some things I would change about that build :

- I think a single 1 TB HDD would be enough to store your OS, programs and games. Save some money by getting rid of the other 750 GB HDD.

- EVGA is not a good brand for power supplies. Instead, look at more trusted brands like Seasonic or XFX. Anything from these two brands will perform way better than the one from EVGA.

- The amount of RAM is perfect, but for the same price, I think you could get better quality sticks from brands like Kingston, Corsair or Patriot.

- The case is matter of preference, but in your case, I would really suggest that you put a little more in it. For like 20$ more, you could get a Corsair Carbide 200R which is a bang for your buck in this price range.

- For a bit more, you could change your GTX 660 to a GTX 760 and get a huge boost in performance.


This is almost exactly what I was thinking as I was looking at the partspicker.
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 12:05:00 PM

For video editing, you may indeed prefer the FX-8320. Do get the 900-series chipset board though. You'll get all the modern interfaces, provided by the chipset and not slow, 3rd-party controllers. Use the spreadsheet I linked earlier; specifically avoid the MSI 970A-G4x boards, as they have weak VRMs. The Hyper-TX3 is a 92mm cooler that is not bad for its size, but 92mm PWM fans may whine under load.
Edit: Got delayed by work... He already has the drives, so there's no money to be saved by not using one of them. Here's the JG review of the EVGA PSU: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=... Yes, there are better, but this one isn't bad.
Personally, I've bought a lot of different Rosewill cases, and none of them ever disappointed, even the $30 ones.
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 12:46:49 PM

Onus said:
For video editing, you may indeed prefer the FX-8320. Do get the 900-series chipset board though. You'll get all the modern interfaces, provided by the chipset and not slow, 3rd-party controllers. Use the spreadsheet I linked earlier; specifically avoid the MSI 970A-G4x boards, as they have weak VRMs. The Hyper-TX3 is a 92mm cooler that is not bad for its size, but 92mm PWM fans may whine under load.
Edit: Got delayed by work... He already has the drives, so there's no money to be saved by not using one of them. Here's the JG review of the EVGA PSU: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=... Yes, there are better, but this one isn't bad.
Personally, I've bought a lot of different Rosewill cases, and none of them ever disappointed, even the $30 ones.

How about this Motherboard?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
0
l
January 10, 2014 12:51:53 PM

That is an older, 700-series board. Although Biostar isn't normally high on my list, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... is not shown on the spreadsheet as being known for VRM problems. It is rated for 140W CPUs, is made with all-solid caps, and has heatsinks on its VRMs. It is also only $60.
m
0
l
!