Fx-8320 throttling with reasonable temps? HELP!?

harshp344

Honorable
Dec 28, 2013
Hello, recently I replaced my stock amd cooler for my fx 8320 with a hyper 212 evo. After doing so, when I started playing a game I saw a the fps was dropping quite Significantly, from 40-50 fps to 15-20 fps. I married down the problem to the CPU throttling to around 2.5 GHz to 2.9 GHz every time the frame rate drops. I'm wondering why this might be. The idle temp I am getting is around 40c and the load temp is no more than 60c. I was just wondering why it is throttling lime this.

To add, while I was installing the heatsink did slide a little to the side and just slide it back into place, this actually happened several times during the installation process, I am wondering if this is because of the heatsink not on properly or something else. The cpu was fine before the installation and never used to throttle like this.

PLEAS HELP THIS IS REALLY FUSTRATING :(

Thanks in advance :)

Solution
sorry I didn't get the notification for your reply.
you haven't overclocked at ALL and it was working FINE before you put your Hyper 212 evo? Either that's a defective 212 evo or you obviously must have put the heatsink on wrong,used way too much thermal paste,combined with your bad mobo

leave it on the stock clock, and do the 212 install again, only a very small dab of thermal paste in the middle of the cpu and let the heatsink spread it out on its own.

ShadyHamster

Distinguished
Depending on what motherboard you have you might be throttling because of VRM temps due to them getting less airflow because of the tower cooler.
The stock cooler would provide a little more airflow around the VRM's which might have been keeping them just under throttling temp.

I know on my old Asrock 970 Extreme4 board the VRM temp would kick in throttling at around 78 degrees well before the cpu even hit 60.

As rdc85 said, try reinstalling the cooler.

harshp344

Honorable
Dec 28, 2013