$600 AUD Gaming PC - Finalising

LollyHunter

Honorable
Jan 4, 2014
Ok so this is my revised build and I am now ready to purchase the parts! What I really need to know is will all these parts work, out of the box, without needing to mess around with bios or whatever? And would I need any additional fans the current case i have chosen already comes with 2? For internet I will just be using a ethernet cable straight into my PC, is that ok? Sorry for all the questions it is my first build and I would like to make sure I am doing everything ok. Also if there is anything else I may need or should consider changing or adjusting please let me know! I won't be needing an OS or a DVD drive. With the ram I know it is only 4GB so what i would like to know is should I spend the extra $45 and upgrade my ram to a 8GB? And would you recommend upgrading the PSU to a more reliable brand? Other than that I think I did ok, what do you think? My absolute maximum budget is $625 I can't go over that whatsoever.

Anyways here is my build:

CPU: i3-4130 3.4GHz $137.00
Mobo: MSI B85-G43 $84
RAM Patriot 4GB 1600MHZ $45
HDD: WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM $68
GPU: AMD R7 260X $164
Case: Coolermaster NSE-300A $49
PSU: Antec 450P 450Wat $59

Total: $606

For a monitor at the moment I am thinking of going for the Asus 23.6" VS247HR. A cheaper alternative would probably be better but I don't want to lose quality too much.

Thanks heaps in advance!

Solution
For school stuff and movies you'd be absolutely fine, should be good for gaming (and great for gaming after the upgrades)

For more CPU intensive games like BF4 and Metro Last Light you'll see a big difference when you eventually get an i5

I personally stayed with Windows 7 64 bit since I got used to it, but 8/8.1 does give you better performance in some games like FC3 and BF4

Wouldn't want a giant case either, the VP450 apparently has some fairly short cables :lol:

Icaraeus

Honorable