1155 cpu with 1155 socket MOBO

YoungKaos

Honorable
Jan 25, 2014
Hi I'm building a pc for someone to sell. I ordered a Pentium 2 core CPU G2030 LGA1155 & AND th67b BIOSTAR mobo I connected of the wires and installed the cpu and mounted the heatsink with some ICDiamond thermal paste took a 8gb ddr3 CARD FROM THE PC I'm using now and placed it in the biostar. I, Then, went to fire the biostar up it comes on fans spin momo light glows and then shuts off Any suggestions?

PS. there is no display when it fires up either.

ps.s. it repeats this on off on off with no beeps

Ok thanks for the quick reply guys how do I do this to the computer without it operating I'm new to building a system I've upgraded them but never built one. So How do I upgrade bios and so and so...?

Also I'm planning to use windows 8 if possible and all that is supported on bio's page is up to vista?

Solution
The BIOS may or may not already be updated from the factory to support your CPU. Did you perform all the steps in the checklist yet? There isn't an easy way to upgrade the BIOS if the CPU isn't supported. You have to install an older Sandy Bridge CPU, update the BIOS, then put your new CPU in. I would go through the checklist fully before assuming the BIOS is out of date. There are many causes for the problems you describe. An unsupported BIOS version is only one of the causes.

OllieOxenFree

Honorable
Jan 24, 2014
to upgrade the bios to Ivy bridge you must have a sandy bridge cpu then update bios and drivers then switch to the ivy bridge cpu. Some boards have the ability to update bios using USB without having the proper CPU but that board is not one of them.