$1200 GPU set up, 2014 edition Q

Broc Kelley

Honorable
Dec 11, 2013
Q: for 3 monitor set up, 3240x1920 @60hz, what is the best dual gpu set up? Answer what you want for any specific build, but my build has an fx 8350 cooled by a Noctua NH-D14; I play all kinds of games but have mostly been playing Skyrim and BF4, along with slight bouts of free to play MMOs and Planet Side 2. Again, I'm on air and I'd like to continue to be on air with my graphics cards.

I know the non reference 290s just came out, and I know the 790 and Titan Black edition are on there way.I also know I can OC any 780 and reach 780 ti base-clock performance, and I know 780ti's are on par with r9 290x for the most part. I know that Mantle finally went live for the public and people are saying it actually works, and I know that 3gb of VRAM might not be enough for the 780s because of how capable those cards are..The problem is in the pricing. As a college student I really shouldn't shift that budget around too much..it sucks eating ramen for a month to get the latest and greatest..but hell, it's why we're here. Any help?

My top choices:

Windforce r92 290~$625
XFX DD r9 290~$600
Classified 780~$575
MSI Lightning 780/ ACX 780~$550
Windforce 780~$500

I'd SLI these obviously.

The questions that come to mind:
Will the VRAM make a difference?

Will the Gaming industry change so much that these cards don't matter as much as the servers we run games on?

Should I/We plan for the gaming industry to change in this fashion, or should we continue to invest fully?

Should I even be investing $1200 when all this APU stuff is going on?

As the best price/performance is obviously the windforce gtx 780 at $500, is the +1gb of VRAM and current Mantle support worth the extra $100 given that next gen consoles are running AMD stuff? or since console game's are hardware-optimized does that not make any difference?

Broc Kelley

Honorable
Dec 11, 2013

Is the only reason you choose the DD 290 because of drivers?