Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Want a second opinion on a PC build

Last response: in Systems
Share
February 3, 2014 5:59:50 PM

Hello,

i"m currently looking to put together a second computer and i'm on a budget. I already have ram, an old thermal-take tsunami case, CD drive and HDD so listed are the only other parts i'm in need of. I would like to stay around the $500-620 budget and i'm on the top end of that now. Suggestions to cut corners or to get the most performance form my money would be much appreciated.~~~ thanks

ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 1155 motherboard $129
ASUS GTX 650TI-OC-2GD5 128-Bit $144.99
CORSAIR CX series 600W power supply $69.99
Inntel Core i5-3350P Ivy Bridge 3.1GHz (3.3GHz Turbo)processor $179
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit $99.99

More about : opinion build

February 3, 2014 6:07:28 PM

well ur procie pick and mobo is not good for ur money. it is i5-3350P (non overclockable) so u better get a H77 board. or find a combination of i5-4430 and H87 board with the same amount of money. they are exist.
m
0
l
February 3, 2014 6:08:46 PM

If you aren't planning on OCing your CPU then I would with a cheaper Mobo and get either a more powerful CPU or a more powerful GPU. I also would go with an LGA 1150 board and a Haswell i5. They are the same basic price but newer, will run cooler, use less power, and are a little more powerful then the Intel Generation you have chosen.
m
0
l
Related resources
February 3, 2014 6:47:27 PM

If you are gaming, I wouldn't go for this. You can get a much stronger gaming build by going with AMD.
m
0
l
February 3, 2014 7:32:59 PM

realchaos said:
If you are gaming, I wouldn't go for this. You can get a much stronger gaming build by going with AMD.


yeah i'm planning on using it primarily for gaming. Any suggestions on parts are definitely welcome.

I appreciate the help.
m
0
l
February 3, 2014 7:35:33 PM

drbones8472 said:
If you aren't planning on OCing your CPU then I would with a cheaper Mobo and get either a more powerful CPU or a more powerful GPU. I also would go with an LGA 1150 board and a Haswell i5. They are the same basic price but newer, will run cooler, use less power, and are a little more powerful then the Intel Generation you have chosen.


yeah that was my fault. i thought the 1155 was the newer gen. thanks for the heads up. i'm going to look into the pieces.

i'm not sold on SLI and was at a loss for a mobo non sli, It's been a long time since I've worked a build.
m
0
l
February 3, 2014 8:23:06 PM

At that budget, you can go for:
-FX-6300 (~$120)
-ASRock 970 Extreme3 (~$70)
-XFX 550w (~$50)
-Windows 8.1 or 7 (~$90)
-R9-270 (~200)

I don't know where you're buying from so those are estimated prices. I can help you even more if we know where you live to determine what stores/retailers to use but something along those lines are cheaper and stronger in games.
m
0
l
February 4, 2014 12:38:48 PM

realchaos said:
At that budget, you can go for:
-FX-6300 (~$120)
-ASRock 970 Extreme3 (~$70)
-XFX 550w (~$50)
-Windows 8.1 or 7 (~$90)
-R9-270 (~200)

I don't know where you're buying from so those are estimated prices. I can help you even more if we know where you live to determine what stores/retailers to use but something along those lines are cheaper and stronger in games.


I live in the middle of nowhere so all the parts would be online order. i wish i had the option to get them from a store but it's not feasible.

I really like the setup of those parts and the cost is a definite plus. After pricing it out, it would actually save me some money and net a higher end video card. This is going to be the last PC i'm building for quite some time as i started back at college and after this purchase my funds are going to be on a strict budget. Any thoughts on a sli/crossfire set up? worth it for maybe just a replacement vid card down the line or not worth the extra $?

thoughts on this?
ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0

thanks again.
m
0
l
February 4, 2014 5:26:23 PM

Ahh so you're just going to be buying from online retailers. I'm going to assume you're in the U.S., but please correct me if I'm wrong.
You can try something like this:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($116.97 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: XFX Radeon HD 7870 2GB Video Card ($169.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($49.99 @ NCIX US)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 - OEM (64-bit) ($89.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $506.93
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-02-04 20:23 EST-0500)

This will total to about $510 with free shipping on everything (processor and motherboard at Newegg, GPU PSU and OS at NCIX) before tax.
This will play games stronger than your build in your original post.

I won't even consider a crossfire set-up. It's not worth crossfiring lower end cards like this, especially since you'll need a more expensive motherboard and psu to properly support crossfire. In the future, you can just sell the 7870 and buy a new one.
Also, I wouldn't go for the LE R2.0 motherboard because the LE version lacks VRM heatsinks which is pretty bad.
m
0
l
February 5, 2014 10:45:37 AM

realchaos said:
Ahh so you're just going to be buying from online retailers. I'm going to assume you're in the U.S., but please correct me if I'm wrong.
You can try something like this:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($116.97 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: XFX Radeon HD 7870 2GB Video Card ($169.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($49.99 @ NCIX US)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 - OEM (64-bit) ($89.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $506.93
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-02-04 20:23 EST-0500)

This will total to about $510 with free shipping on everything (processor and motherboard at Newegg, GPU PSU and OS at NCIX) before tax.
This will play games stronger than your build in your original post.

I won't even consider a crossfire set-up. It's not worth crossfiring lower end cards like this, especially since you'll need a more expensive motherboard and psu to properly support crossfire. In the future, you can just sell the 7870 and buy a new one.
Also, I wouldn't go for the LE R2.0 motherboard because the LE version lacks VRM heatsinks which is pretty bad.


yeah i'm in the US. Right in the mid west. I really like that setup for the PC. I have one more idea to bounce off you before i order. i would like to upgrade the CPU on your build with the AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor and use a different mobo. i was reading reviews on that mobo you selected and read that you have to update the bios when using the Vishera processors. I would really love to avoid updating the bios and have included an idea for a different one below.


Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard

thanks again and i really appreciate all your help.
m
0
l

Best solution

February 5, 2014 6:28:28 PM

No you won't. I know on PCPartPicker it shows that it MAY need a BIOs update. This is only true for the REALLY REALLY OLD motherboards that were shipped out to retailers before Vishera was officially released. Given that Vishera was released a long time ago, you should be fine. Nonetheless, the Asus one you listed is a really good board, one of the best 970 chipset boards on the market. It's also more expensive, if you don't mind.
Share
February 5, 2014 9:10:39 PM

realchaos said:
No you won't. I know on PCPartPicker it shows that it MAY need a BIOs update. This is only true for the REALLY REALLY OLD motherboards that were shipped out to retailers before Vishera was officially released. Given that Vishera was released a long time ago, you should be fine. Nonetheless, the Asus one you listed is a really good board, one of the best 970 chipset boards on the market. It's also more expensive, if you don't mind.


Ah, I was unsure. I did see some mixed reviews of people saying they had plug and play.

As far as the price, it came out to be $566. It was just a little over what you had and definitely less than what i had. It also net me a better system and i put a modular PSU with it as well for not much more. Here was what i came up with, and again, i really appreciate all the help.

AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core $154.93
Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ $94.79
XFX Radeon HD 7870 2GB $169.99
Corsair 600W ATX12V $54.99


m
0
l
February 5, 2014 9:57:31 PM

Looks good. You can also add in an aftermarket cpu cooler like the ~$30 Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO to overclock that 8320.
m
0
l
!