Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

Need opinions in building a work PC budget around $500 (i3 4130 vs a10 6400k/6800k/7700k vs Fx6300+7770)

Tags:
  • system
  • CPUs
  • AMD
  • Build Your Own
  • Systems
  • E-ITX
  • Intel
Last response: in Systems
February 5, 2014 3:12:58 AM

Hi guys :) 

I'm going crazy searching the net on building a work PC.
I've some questions to ask :) 

Things i'll be using the PC for: (i do not play games)
1) word
2) excel
3) itunes
4) watch movies@1080p
5) internet explorer with like 20 tabs open
6) youtube@1080p
7) maybe a second screen in future but at 1920x1080 resolution
8) able to stream through a NAS, only going to use 1 sata 3 port.

I've been really keen in an i3 itx build but amd's APUs have been hyped recently, then a fx6300+amd7770 seems like a good future proof combo too.

Correct me if im wrong, in terms of graphics performance:
fx6300/7770 > a10 6800/7700 > i3 4130 (integrated HD 4000)

Which build would you guys suggest?

**Just wondering if i were to get an i3 4130 and use the integreted graphics
Is there a difference between a B85 (mini itx) mobo as compared to a H81m (microATX) in terms of graphical performance?
Or is the grading just extra features like USB 3.0 ports etc?
Somehow miniITX mobos are more expensive than mircoATX... why? :( 
Cheapest itx mobo is like $95 Asrock B85m and cheapest mATX is like $65 Asrock H81m (Australia)

Thanks guys :) )

More about : opinions building work budget 500 4130 a10 6400k 6800k 7700k fx6300 7770

a b à CPUs
February 5, 2014 3:26:45 AM

For budget don't go any where near Intel, AMD gets much higher value for money. If you are not gaming an apu by its self would be absolutely fine and will save you a lot of money
m
0
l
a b à CPUs
February 5, 2014 3:35:32 AM

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2NE6G
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2NE6G/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2NE6G/benchmarks/

CPU: AMD A10-6790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor ($109.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-D3H Micro ATX FM2+ Motherboard ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: A-Data XPG V1.0 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($89.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.66 @ OutletPC)
Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($44.99 @ Microcenter)
Total: $494.60
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-02-05 06:34 EST-0500)

Includes SSD which makes make a big difference for your use case
m
0
l
February 5, 2014 4:15:46 AM

bluehowell said:
PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2NE6G
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2NE6G/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2NE6G/benchmarks/

CPU: AMD A10-6790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor ($109.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-D3H Micro ATX FM2+ Motherboard ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: A-Data XPG V1.0 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($89.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.66 @ OutletPC)
Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($44.99 @ Microcenter)
Total: $494.60
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-02-05 06:34 EST-0500)

Includes SSD which makes make a big difference for your use case


Thanks for the reply bluehowell :) 
Read alittle on your suggestion and lots of good reviews saying a10 6800k > an i3 4130.
Only draw back is the power consumption.

Am wondering would a a8 6600k be a good choice as well?
(Australia only carries 6600k or 6800k)

I won't be overclocking, what is the cheapest AM2 micro atx mobo i can get?
A a55 a75 or a85?

Also would 4gb ram be sufficient or is the minimum 8gb?


m
0
l
a b à CPUs
February 5, 2014 8:49:09 AM

An A8 would also be fine, the power consumption is not that much more than the i3 and will not actually cost you much more. Get the cheapest motherboard you want as long as it is FM2+ as it supports all the current APU's without the need for a bios update and will support future APU's. 4Gb will probably be fine but you may run out if you are running 20 browser tabs + word etc at the same time, I would get 8Gb so you never have to worry about running out. If you can only afford 4 get that and then you could upgrade in the future if you feel you need to.
m
0
l
February 5, 2014 8:52:55 AM

I'm running an FX-6300 and 7770 for low-medium end gaming and just general day to day internet browsing. It's a very good combination and I highly recommend it. I'm sure it will do all the thing that you want it to do plus more!
m
0
l
a b à CPUs
February 5, 2014 9:17:06 AM

Computer__GUY said:
I'm running an FX-6300 and 7770 for low-medium end gaming and just general day to day internet browsing. It's a very good combination and I highly recommend it. I'm sure it will do all the thing that you want it to do plus more!


He will not need that much power for general computer use without gaming, it would be a waste of money and power, an apu without a discrete GPU will be all he needs. An A8 would also be perfect for casual gaming and non-demanding titles.

m
0
l
February 5, 2014 9:25:39 AM

Thought it might be a good future proof option just like he mentioned.
m
0
l
February 28, 2014 7:01:42 PM

Computer__GUY said:
Thought it might be a good future proof option just like he mentioned.


Nah, the FX-6300 is on AM3+.That socket's at EOL, is it not? So it's not future proof. The FM2+ will be forward compatible with next year's Carrizo APU that'll house the upcoming Excavator CPU and the newer AMD chips moving forward..
m
0
l
February 28, 2014 8:16:47 PM

For future proofing the GPU wait for the R7 265 to come out its gonna be a beast for $150 price point to performance comparison. Can't wait to mine with one of those.
m
0
l