Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

First ever build - budget gaming PC! thoughts/opinions?

Last response: in Systems
Share
February 10, 2014 1:36:51 PM

Looking for opinions on my first PC build! I'm trying to keep the price down as best I can, but I'd still like quality parts that won't die on me in a matter of a few months. All input is appreciated!

Parts list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2QUIF

CPU - AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor

Is it necessary to purchase an aftermarket CPU cooler if I'm not overclocking? I will be gaming, but none of the huge games such as Elder scrolls/BF4/GTA.


Motherboard - Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard
Memory - Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Storage - Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card - Asus GeForce GTX 760 2GB Video Card
Case - NZXT Tempest 210 ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply - XFX Core Edition PRO550W
Optical Drive - LG GH24NSB0 DVD/CD Writer

I was thinking of going with a Radeon R9 270 GPU to save about $55, but it seems to have a ton of mixed reviews which makes me extremely nervous. The same goes for my selected power supply; Tons of mixed reviews. I don't have much experience with PC components, so reviews are all that I can go on as of right now. As I said before.. all input is appreciated! Thanks!

Edit: Swapped Corsair CX500 PSU with woltej1's suggested XFX Core Edition PRO550W PSU. Thanks, woltej!
February 10, 2014 1:41:13 PM

Also, I'm almost certain that I won't have any compatibility issues.. But i was curious if I would have any issues fitting all of this in my selected case?
m
0
l

Best solution

a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 1:41:23 PM

Change the PSU to this. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... could use the extra 50W for a 760. Otherwise your build looks fine.
Share
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 1:44:33 PM


You're good.

Either way with the GPU it fits at an appropriate price/performance ratio, and should be quite sweet gamer.

m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 1:45:14 PM

Are you sure you want 8.1 over 7 on your desktop?

What's your total budget?
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 1:46:13 PM

After market cooler is nice even if you are not overclocking but not need and everything will fit in that case and 50 watts wont matter to much for that PSU.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 1:49:40 PM

lxgoldsmith said:
Are you sure you want 8.1 over 7 on your desktop?

What's your total budget?


8.1 is alot better for gaming and 7 is 5 years old.
m
0
l
February 10, 2014 1:50:18 PM

lxgoldsmith said:
Are you sure you want 8.1 over 7 on your desktop?

What's your total budget?


I prefer windows 7 to windows 8. I was told by numerous people that 8.1 is better suited for gaming, with quicker boot/load times.

I was initially trying not to stray too far from $700, but going a bit over that isn't going to hurt me TOO bad.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 1:50:44 PM


The XFX is a great PSU ... but that extra $30 would cover a Cooler Master Hyper TX3 (or Hyper 212 if it would fit in your case) ...

m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 1:52:11 PM

caliballz said:
I prefer windows 7 to windows 8. I was told by numerous people that 8.1 is better suited for gaming, with quicker boot/load times

Do you prefer 7 for it's UI?
m
0
l
February 10, 2014 1:57:39 PM

dashboy1998 said:
caliballz said:
I prefer windows 7 to windows 8. I was told by numerous people that 8.1 is better suited for gaming, with quicker boot/load times

Do you prefer 7 for it's UI?


Yea. Honestly, I'm not against windows 8 at all, I just haven't ran it on any of my own PCs yet. I've used it on multiple occasions at friends' houses and what have you. I guess I'm just afraid of anything that's different. haha
m
0
l
February 10, 2014 2:00:02 PM

Wisecracker said:

The XFX is a great PSU ... but that extra $30 would cover a Cooler Master Hyper TX3 (or Hyper 212 if it would fit in your case) ...


I think I'm going to stick with the XFX, and somewhere down the line pick up a cpu cooler. If the cooler becomes absolutely necessary I will get it ASAP. Also, the XFX comes down to an extra $10 before rebates.(That's assuming I'd ever get my rebate on the CX500 lol)

m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 2:02:43 PM

caliballz said:
dashboy1998 said:
caliballz said:
I prefer windows 7 to windows 8. I was told by numerous people that 8.1 is better suited for gaming, with quicker boot/load times

Do you prefer 7 for it's UI?


Yea. Honestly, I'm not against windows 8 at all, I just haven't ran it on any of my own PCs yet. I've used it on multiple occasions at friends' houses and what have you. I guess I'm just afraid of anything that's different. haha

Only reason I got windows 8 is because 7 is getting old, but now I love it, I mean sure I never use the Metro UI but if you do get 8/8.1 install chrome classic shell it makes it alot like 7

m
0
l
February 10, 2014 2:05:33 PM

dashboy1998 said:
caliballz said:
dashboy1998 said:
caliballz said:
I prefer windows 7 to windows 8. I was told by numerous people that 8.1 is better suited for gaming, with quicker boot/load times

Do you prefer 7 for it's UI?


Yea. Honestly, I'm not against windows 8 at all, I just haven't ran it on any of my own PCs yet. I've used it on multiple occasions at friends' houses and what have you. I guess I'm just afraid of anything that's different. haha

Only reason I got windows 8 is because 7 is getting old, but now I love it, I mean sure I never use the Metro UI but if you do get 8/8.1 install chrome classic shell it makes it alot like 7



I'll be sure to check that out! Thanks!
m
0
l
!