Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

building gaming pc review and advice needed

Tags:
  • Gaming
  • Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
February 10, 2014 6:58:47 PM

Hi, I have built a system that is quite good in my budget of £2500. My finger is on the check out button but I would like to get a second opinion. Am I wasting money on any thing or could I improve the build within my budget? Thanks in advance

More about : building gaming review advice needed

a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 7:02:20 PM

please post a link.
m
0
l
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 7:10:22 PM

at that price I'd want a 4770k over an amd product as it is still the best gaming CPU out there. The asus hero mobo is a good matchup for the 4770k if you go that route.

RAM is a little overkill as games do not benefit much from higher frequency RAM.

Personally, I'd choose an asus, msi or evga 780 ti over the gigabyte, but that's more personal preference for those cards.
m
0
l
February 10, 2014 7:15:14 PM

When I last had a system I used to be a bit of an amd fan boy hard habit to break lol. Do you think 1600 ram would be a better option not much difference price wise. As for the gfx card I wanted something quiet , is the evga card also quiet?
m
0
l
February 10, 2014 7:21:29 PM

Gota say sorry for spelling auto correct on this phone is really bad
m
0
l
a c 269 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 7:41:52 PM

How about this CF-ready build?

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor (£233.99 @ Aria PC)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler (£64.90 @ Amazon UK)
Motherboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero ATX LGA1150 Motherboard (£147.69 @ Ebuyer)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-2133 Memory (£69.98 @ Novatech)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Disk (£126.06 @ CCL Computers)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (£43.96 @ CCL Computers)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon R9 290X 4GB Video Card (£459.98 @ Novatech)
Case: Corsair Air 540 ATX Desktop Case (£107.53 @ Amazon UK)
Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000G2 1000W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply (£127.35 @ Dabs)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD/CD Writer (£14.90 @ Amazon UK)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) (£73.99 @ Dabs)
Monitor: Asus VG278HE 144Hz 27.0" Monitor (£359.40 @ Scan.co.uk)
Total: £1829.73
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-02-11 03:41 GMT+0000)

Great Onboard Audio: ROG SupremeFX Audio 8-Channel High Definition Audio.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 7:48:01 PM

What is the price difference between the 2133 and 1600? It could be worth it if it wasn't too much of a difference. Evga has great coolers and you'd be happy with it.

I really suggest breaking that amd fan boy habit as intel has really kicked the shit out of them lately.
m
0
l
February 10, 2014 7:58:53 PM

Wow that's a nice build only thing I would change is the gfx card I really want the ti and 16gig ram. Thanks gave me a good alternative option
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 8:39:25 PM

nerbzzz said:
Wow that's a nice build only thing I would change is the gfx card I really want the ti and 16gig ram. Thanks gave me a good alternative option


The 290X is a beast though and will also help if you plan to play BF4 since it has Mantle support.
m
0
l
a c 269 4 Gaming
February 10, 2014 9:09:30 PM

sora said:
nerbzzz said:
Wow that's a nice build only thing I would change is the gfx card I really want the ti and 16gig ram. Thanks gave me a good alternative option


The 290X is a beast though and will also help if you plan to play BF4 since it has Mantle support.


... and Sapphire Tri-X BF4 Edition is amazing temperature wise and simply a beautiful card :) 


m
0
l