GT 630 to GTX 760-No beeps, no signal, have breadboarded, no change - What have I done wrong?

MrVic87

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2014
■ Im new to building pcs. I upgraded my graphics card from a gt 630 to a gtx 760. Before the upgrade, my PC was working great. Build is a

AMD Fx6350
4gb (2 x 2gb) Ballistic Ram
Evga Gtx 760 (originally Gigabyte Gt 630)
600w evga psu (originally a 500w Corsair, modular)
Zalman 8900 CPU cooler
Cooler master haf 912.

Before I installed the gtx, I uninstalled the display driver. Installed gtx and when I powered on a message appeared saying please use pci connectors that came with the card. I must have connected it wrong cuz when I powered on again, there was a smell of a component possibly being fried. I powered down, waited then made sure I had the right connections. At that time it was with a Corsair 500w psu. I power up and nothing happened. No signal, no beeps, no bios. I swapped back to gt 630 and no beeps or signal. I went to get my mobo and psu replaced. I have a gigabyte ga970-ud3p mobo. I rebuilt my PC and again no beeps. I tried via hdmi, dvi adapter to VGA to hdtv, nothing. All system fans and graphics card seems to be working fine. Dvi adapter to vga with my monitor, nothing. I removed components one by one, powered on, no change. I tried everything I could think of but can't get a signal.

I rebuild an older PC and used the same monitor and it worked!! I have read a few similar threads on here which is why i joined but i still have this issue. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!!

Solution
If you upgraded from a gt 630 card to a 760 card.
Then you must ensure that the power supply you were running is up to the job of feeding enough power to the system.

That means the wattage, and the amount of amps the psu can output via it`s 12v power rail.

By adding the 760 card the wattage and amp consumption would of been far more.