I7 920 OC Safe? NB-Frequency too high or normal? Voltage Auto?

Derptington

Reputable
Feb 24, 2014
I have a rather old pc (about 5-6 years old) i recently thought about making it faster but as it seems my CPU still is top notch so i only changed my graphics card to a r9 280x.

Rig:
i7 920
p6t v2 Deluxe Mainboard
6 GB Ram (OCZ DDR3 PC3-10666 1333MHz)
r9 280x OC (vapor-x)

BIOS Settings:
AI Tweaker Manual
x20
BClK 166
DRam DDR3 1331
Speedstep and Boost Disabled
Every other Setting is on Auto or standard
(That does mean that Voltage is not changed right?)

So i thought it would be a good idea to overclock the CPU a little bit (my tower has 5 fans, my CPU has an arctic cooling fan with arctic silver compound).

So i started reading into overclocking but didnt want to go too far so i decided to go for about 3.33 or below Ghz.

Still i am rather new to this so maybe someone could check if my values are normal. I am especially concerned about the NB-Frequency which is about 2650 which seems rather high?

I am just now testing it witih games that are very demanding and now i am running Prime 95.

CPU

30 Celsius idle
between 58 and 62 Celsisus with Prime95 running.
about 44 when playing new games

GPU:

28 Celsius idle about 61 Celsius Load

I hope somebody is willing too help me.

EDIT:
Something i have to add:

I dont know now what the Ram mhz was before but the increase in performance is way too good to be true? Did i do something horribly wrong? For example Witcher 2 on almost highest settings without Uebersampling was having FPS drops before - now its constant 60-80 it seems like a 20-30% increase in performance from going from 2.66 stock to 3.317 mhz or is it simply that my CPU was such an extreme bottleneck for the r9 280x ?

Shane Hawk

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2013
you cooling is better than mine, but i can still safely get to around 3.9 Ghz with turbo on, and hyperthreading OFF with temps in the low 70's on prime.
i have the vcore set to 1.5 volts static.