Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

$1000 Building First Gaming Computer, would like Help and Opinions

Last response: in Systems
Share
March 4, 2014 3:52:48 PM

Hi i'm planning on building a gaming computer with a budget of around $1000, This'll be the first one i've build and i was looking for opinions and help. I'm wanting something that's upgradable as well as lasting around 3 years.The main games that i'll be wanting it to play would be BF4 on around medium-high graphics with about 60FPS, ill also be playing games like GW2 with high graphics and a high FPS.

Here's the Build i have at the moment:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($199.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme4 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($119.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($84.98 @ OutletPC)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video Card ($189.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Corsair 300R ATX Mid Tower Case ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: XFX 650W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($89.98 @ OutletPC)

March 4, 2014 3:57:16 PM

this will play bf4 on high-very high. and it is a great build, nice job :p 
m
0
l
March 20, 2014 10:59:38 AM

For that kind of money, a GTX 660 isn't the best choice. If you got a slightly cheaper mother board and an AMD FX-6300 CPU you could squeeze in a GTX 770 or an AMD card with similar pricing and similar performance. The 660 is on par with an HD 7850/ slightly worse than an R9 270. You can play most games at high or ultra but the 770 is guaranteed ultra.
m
0
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
March 20, 2014 12:39:00 PM

Almost everything maxed 1080p, 50-60+ fps



PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($109.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($89.79 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($64.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Hybrid Internal Hard Drive ($89.99 @ Dell Small Business)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 780 3GB Video Card ($509.99 @ NCIX US)
Case: NZXT Source 220 ATX Mid Tower Case ($44.99 @ TigerDirect)
Power Supply: EVGA 600B 600W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($59.67 @ OutletPC)
Total: $999.40
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-20 15:38 EDT-0400)
m
0
l

Best solution

a b B Homebuilt system
March 22, 2014 2:34:25 PM

This thread isn't marked as "Solved", so I thought I'd see if you still need assistance. If so, let me know and I'll be glad to help. :) 
Share
April 1, 2014 3:49:47 AM

@Marcopolo123
I kinda did this when using the american version of parts picker and not the Australian one, so thanks, but i've worked this one out :) 
m
0
l
a b B Homebuilt system
April 3, 2014 3:28:20 PM

Emann said:
@Marcopolo123
I kinda did this when using the american version of parts picker and not the Australian one, so thanks, but i've worked this one out :) 


Just to let you know.....the door is still open for any questions/comments/concerns that you may have. And although you have things figured out, I went ahead and attached a link that addresses building the PC that best suits your needs while staying within the confines of your budget. I never miss an opportunity to learn more! Best wishes on your build! :D 
Building a PC for your budget and level of gaming complete w/assembly step by step
******DISCLAIMER***** all prices in builds will vary day to day due to new deals and ending deals, those builds where in budget at the time of the writing of this tutorial. all builds are meant only as guidelines. The following tutorial is... See full content
m
0
l
!