Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Review my CPU Build Please :D

Tags:
  • Computers
  • CPUs
  • Build
Last response: in CPUs
Share
March 8, 2014 2:06:49 AM

Again I stated in my last post i'm fairly new to constructing computers. i just want someone to rate this build and sorry for my rant built into :( .
Also if there are any places i can improve on never worked with AMD before so would appreciate the help there.

1 wrong step: went to Frys to see if i could price out local components... low and behold I fell hook line and sinker to the associate. He offered to go around and build a computer based on my price limit i gave him. ( i told him 500 ) I had around 1k budget so i wanted to see what he could do.

2nd wrong step: i started to get into all this debate on yeah that looks good and oh its on sale! long story short...

I left fry's with this: * story continue's below*

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/36adZ
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/36adZ/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/36adZ/benchmarks/

CPU: AMD A10-6800K 4.1GHz Quad-Core Processor ($119.99 @ Amazon)

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper TX3 54.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($20.79 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: Asus A88XM-A Micro ATX FM2+ Motherboard ($78.99 @ SuperBiiz)

Memory: PNY XLR8 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($76.99 @ Newegg)

Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($88.98 @ SuperBiiz)

Video Card: PNY GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1GB Video Card ($109.99 @ Microcenter)

Case: Raidmax ATX-321WB (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($67.98 @ Newegg)

Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($84.99 @ NCIX US)

(Total: $668.68)

that Total wasn't that far off of what i paid somethings i couldnt find of partpicker my raidmax case came with a 500W.

Fry's total came out to $680 and that did not include me getting the GTX650 TI which was $130.
over all i bought this rig at a full price of $810 give or take a few.

Well like i stated i'd just like someone to rate this build for me and maybe point out a few areas that could improve.

Thanks and I Heart you XOXO so much
Krilo

More about : review cpu build

Best solution

a b à CPUs
March 8, 2014 2:16:14 AM

well the glaring thing is the psu, raidmax is known to make total crap psu's that can destroy your system when they die. i would immediately buy something from corsair, seasonic, nzxt, xfx, or the v series from cooler master. you have a really low power gpu so i'd say it's only really needing a 450w to 500w psu for a bit of future proofing. other than that this is a good starter unit!
Share
a c 85 à CPUs
March 8, 2014 2:38:11 AM

also you are buying an APU and a GPU, buy a proper FX series processor if you are going to use a separate GPU.
m
0
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
March 8, 2014 4:02:55 PM

13thmonkey said:
also you are buying an APU and a GPU, buy a proper FX series processor if you are going to use a separate GPU.


oh good catch, i totally agree with that!
m
0
l
March 8, 2014 8:20:02 PM

I didn't do research before i went and bought the build. I was at the whim of the Fry's sales associate who recommended me this build. if i'd known about it having its own GPU i'd paid more for the i5-3570k or a higher AMD chip but the build is what they fit for my budget. i know now to just research and do it myself.

Thanks for the responses and advice this site is awesome! I wish i'd found it sooner or at least before i bought the computer :(  but oh wells as long as it plays the games i'm playing now i'm happy. i will also look into getting another PSU.
m
0
l
a b à CPUs
March 8, 2014 11:44:16 PM

Krilo said:
I didn't do research before i went and bought the build. I was at the whim of the Fry's sales associate who recommended me this build. if i'd known about it having its own GPU i'd paid more for the i5-3570k or a higher AMD chip but the build is what they fit for my budget. i know now to just research and do it myself.

Thanks for the responses and advice this site is awesome! I wish i'd found it sooner or at least before i bought the computer :(  but oh wells as long as it plays the games i'm playing now i'm happy. i will also look into getting another PSU.


hey there's not really anything wrong with what you got, and you found an awesome spot for info! just look at it as a building point, my rig has evolved from when i first built it, start with a radeon hd 7870 now i'm using a 780! it's only the start before too long you'll have more kit to put in and know a ton more!
m
0
l
a c 85 à CPUs
March 9, 2014 12:20:15 AM

Krilo said:
I didn't do research before i went and bought the build. I was at the whim of the Fry's sales associate who recommended me this build. if i'd known about it having its own GPU i'd paid more for the i5-3570k or a higher AMD chip but the build is what they fit for my budget. i know now to just research and do it myself.

Thanks for the responses and advice this site is awesome! I wish i'd found it sooner or at least before i bought the computer :(  but oh wells as long as it plays the games i'm playing now i'm happy. i will also look into getting another PSU.


that happened because you went in with a 500 budget when you really had 1000, if you'd have gone in with a 1000 budget you'd have a had a completely different foundation laid for you, might have been amd fx, or intel i5, you'd have had to have been hard on them to keep to 1000 sure, but by under selling your budget you've set up a different foundation. Fry's did exactly what you asked, they built you a 500 machine, this is not a good basis for a 1000 machine.
m
0
l
March 9, 2014 2:50:12 PM

13thmonkey said:
Krilo said:
I didn't do research before i went and bought the build. I was at the whim of the Fry's sales associate who recommended me this build. if i'd known about it having its own GPU i'd paid more for the i5-3570k or a higher AMD chip but the build is what they fit for my budget. i know now to just research and do it myself.

Thanks for the responses and advice this site is awesome! I wish i'd found it sooner or at least before i bought the computer :(  but oh wells as long as it plays the games i'm playing now i'm happy. i will also look into getting another PSU.


that happened because you went in with a 500 budget when you really had 1000, if you'd have gone in with a 1000 budget you'd have a had a completely different foundation laid for you, might have been amd fx, or intel i5, you'd have had to have been hard on them to keep to 1000 sure, but by under selling your budget you've set up a different foundation. Fry's did exactly what you asked, they built you a 500 machine, this is not a good basis for a 1000 machine.


this is true, but i did mention that i would like to be able to build upon this machine. but still i think he just went with 500$ budget. i know its not a good basis for a 1k machine but like i said if its playing what i want to play at the moment i'm ok with it. my next machine i will build myself and make sure to do research, i guess the one good point is now i can start getting pieces for the next build when they go on sale. thats one positive way to look at it lol. :) 
m
0
l
March 22, 2014 4:38:54 PM

sorry for a late update, but just want to thank you guys again for the help and advice, i got OCZ 550W ZT series PSU to replace the stock raidmax. I choose that OCZ because i got an awesome deal on it ( like 29.99 ) so far everything is running awesome!.

Thanks again guys!
m
0
l
a b à CPUs
March 22, 2014 10:49:54 PM

Krilo said:
sorry for a late update, but just want to thank you guys again for the help and advice, i got OCZ 550W ZT series PSU to replace the stock raidmax. I choose that OCZ because i got an awesome deal on it ( like 29.99 ) so far everything is running awesome!.

Thanks again guys!


good job, ocz makes some killer stuff, and that's a steal to boot! take care and happy gaming!
m
0
l
!