Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

review new build

Last response: in Systems
Share
March 9, 2014 3:16:20 PM

I need a 2nd opinion on this parts list for a modest new build, my first attempt. I do play some old school games.


AMD x4 740 quad
Asrock fm2a75 pro 4
Western digital blue wd5000aakx- 500 ghz

Power Corsair 430w builder 80 plus bronze
Optical Samsung sh224db bebe
Gskill ddr3
1600 4 g (2×2) 240 pin f312800 cl9d 4gbnq
Windows 7 home
Silverstone micro ATX PS08

Any thoughts?

More about : review build

March 9, 2014 3:18:27 PM

IT depends on what you want in the games. If you want the highest FPS and Details the I might get a separate graphics card.
m
0
l
March 9, 2014 3:34:47 PM

Well its incomplete you have no video card. The motherboard has video outputs but requires an apu to work. The X4 740 is a cpu, not an apu.
m
0
l
Related resources
March 9, 2014 3:37:09 PM

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($109.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($30.98 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P ATX AM3+/AM3 Motherboard ($84.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Kingston Blu 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($64.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.24 @ Amazon)
Video Card: XFX Radeon R7 260X 2GB Video Card ($129.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Sentey CS1-1420 PLUS ATX Mid Tower Case ($14.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 430W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($19.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($84.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $603.13
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-09 18:36 EDT-0400)
m
0
l
March 9, 2014 3:42:05 PM

So I need a separate video card. Any suggestions for an apu processor, I actually thought this was. Thanks
m
0
l
March 9, 2014 5:06:27 PM

Whats your budget for the system?
m
0
l
March 9, 2014 9:16:05 PM

bignastyid said:
Well its incomplete you have no video card. The motherboard has video outputs but requires an apu to work. The X4 740 is a cpu, not an apu.


m
0
l
March 10, 2014 5:08:10 AM

I like vJaMiNv's build. Its extremely hot here for most of the year and my previous 7 year old pc didnt have proper airflow aftermy pc repair guy removed a top fan to replace a power supply. My budget is 500 mostly because this is a first build for me. I hope this posts correctly
Im having to access this site on a Barnes and Noble nook
m
0
l

Best solution

March 10, 2014 12:31:25 PM

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($109.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: MSI 970A-G43 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($63.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($40.80 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($54.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon R7 260X 1GB Video Card ($119.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Antec VSK-2000 ATX Mid Tower Case ($34.99 @ Mwave)
Power Supply: Antec 450W ATX Power Supply ($34.99 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: LG GH24NSB0 DVD/CD Writer ($15.99 @ Microcenter)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($84.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $560.72
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-10 15:24 EDT-0400)

or

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD A10-6790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor ($109.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: Asus A88XM-A Micro ATX FM2+ Motherboard ($78.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-2133 Memory ($94.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($54.99 @ NCIX US)
Case: Antec VSK-3000 MicroATX Mid Tower Case ($34.98 @ OutletPC)
Power Supply: Antec 450W ATX Power Supply ($34.99 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: LG GH24NSB0 DVD/CD Writer ($15.99 @ Microcenter)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($84.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $509.91
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-10 15:30 EDT-0400)
Share
March 17, 2014 4:16:20 PM

I'm adding to my original post. I want to bring the price down further.
AMD Fx 4300
MSI 970a G43 motherboard
G Skill ripjaws 4g (2×2)
Seagate Barracuda 1 T 7200
Asus Radeon HD 6450 1G
Corsair 430w 80+ bronze
Optical Samsung Sh 224DB/BEBE
Windows 7
Antec GX 500

The ambient room temp can crawl into the 90's and I thought the case might be a better choice and its on sale.
My budget took a hit and that's why the reconfig. Again I'd appreciate anyone's feedback.

m
0
l
!