Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

First build, looking for a second opinion on my parts list.

Last response: in Components
Share
March 9, 2014 11:18:33 PM

I have a few questions:
• Would i be better off with an SLI/crossfire setup for about the same graphics budget?
• Should i get a third party fan controller or will the built in NZXT one be ok for 5ish Fans?
• Can you see any obvious places where i could save some money but still keep about the same performance?
• Any other recommendations?

I would be using this for a bit of everything, but nothing too hardcore. I'm just looking to get the most performance for around $1100. Yes i am hoping to over clock the cpu and maybe even the gpu.

Thanks in advance!


PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($219.99 @ SuperBiiz)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($134.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: Crucial Ballistix 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($85.81 @ Amazon)
Storage: Crucial M500 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($66.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($54.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 760 2GB Video Card ($249.99 @ Newegg)
Case: NZXT Phantom 410 (Black/Orange) ATX Mid Tower Case ($109.98 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 430W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($19.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($84.98 @ OutletPC)
Case Fan: NZXT FZ-120mm LED 59.1 CFM 120mm Fan ($11.67 @ Amazon)
Case Fan: NZXT FZ-120mm LED 59.1 CFM 120mm Fan ($11.67 @ Amazon)
Case Fan: NZXT FZ-120mm LED 59.1 CFM 120mm Fan ($11.67 @ Amazon)
Total: $1102.70
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-10 02:16 EDT-0400)

March 9, 2014 11:29:14 PM

Your PSU is way underkill, you will run into short circuit problems, booting issues, shut down issues, black screen issues.... lots of problems. Also I see on pcpartpicker that with the case you have chosen, you might need to remove drive bays to fit the gtx 760 into it (Do you really need such an expensive case?) . I edited your build here, take a look, it would be much better: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/37h9G

m
0
l
March 9, 2014 11:30:26 PM

Nice picks.

I'm not sure what you mean by getting a dual GPU setup, unless you meant getting 2 cards that are older than the 760 for the same price? Usually, single card solutions will be better as they require less power and their drivers are better for games that just come out. It usually takes a bit of time for good drivers to come out for multi GPU configurations. Given the opportunity to pick between a single card which is in equal power to a 2 card setup, definitely go with the single card. It will also leave you an open slot for a future dual GPU setup when you really need it.

The fans should be alright as long as the controller has plugins for 5 fans. I think the the 410 has a fan speed controller so that should be good.

Also, the power supply looks a bit on the low side. It can probably run what you have now alright but you'll likely find yourself having to buy a new PSU for a future upgrade.

As for trimming off some cash, this is just my personal preference, but you could ditch the optical drive and install Windows from a flash drive. I don't know if you have discs you need to install, but if you don't, the drive could go.

Hope that helps.
m
0
l
Related resources
March 9, 2014 11:31:00 PM

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/37hbY
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/37hbY/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/37hbY/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.98 @ OutletPC)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme3 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($109.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: GeIL EVO VELOCE 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($76.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Crucial M500 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($66.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($57.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($328.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Microcenter)
Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750B BRONZE 750W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($84.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1115.84

Was there a reason you went with an older gen intel? This build will have better performance.
m
0
l

Best solution

March 9, 2014 11:40:47 PM

Here is my modified version, changed to i5-4670k, cheaper RAM, stronger GPU, cheaper case, better PSU, while still retaining high quality components. In addition, the case comes with 2 orange fans in the front, so I've added a 140 on the top for exhaust.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.98 @ OutletPC)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($30.98 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme4 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($119.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: A-Data XPG V2 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($74.16 @ OutletPC)
Storage: Crucial M500 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($66.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($54.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($329.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Corsair Graphite Series 230T Orange ATX Mid Tower Case ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($59.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($84.98 @ OutletPC)
Case Fan: BitFenix Spectre 47.7 CFM 140mm Fan ($12.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1165.00
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-10 02:45 EDT-0400)
Share
March 9, 2014 11:50:56 PM

thanks all for your responses, very helpful :) .
m
0
l
!