Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

first build could use review before buying

Last response: in Components
Share
March 11, 2014 1:05:36 PM

Im building my first semi budget gaming pc. I would like to play everything from total war to battlefield 4 and preferably with good settings.

I ordered a used 2gb powercolor 7850 gpu for 150 on ebay and I think ill go with

fx6300 cpu For 109$
Rosewill challenger case 46$
Diablotek 600watt psu 30$
Asus m5a97le mobo 90$
Kingston hyperx blu 8gigs 70$
Wd blue 1tb hdd 60$

What do you think? Any suggestions/criticism welcome since this is my first ever build and gaming pc. What kind of gameplay do you think I will get with this setup?

More about : build review buying

March 11, 2014 1:07:40 PM

do NOT go with diablotek psu's

Tier 5 - Other than the units listed above for any of these brands, NOT RECOMMENDED. Replace ASAP if you have one.

A-TOP Technology
Apevia
APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED)
Aspire(Turbo Case)
ATADC
Athena Power
ATRIX
Broadway Com Corp
Coolmax
Deer
Diablotek<-------Do not get this.
Dynapower USA
Dynex
EagleTech
FOXCONN
FSP Everest
HEC Orion
Hiper Type-R
Huntkey
I-Star Computer Co. Ltd
In Win
JPAC COMPUTER
Just PC
Kingwin Inc.
Linkworld Electronics
Logisys Computer
MGE
MSI
NMEDIAPC
Norwood Micro/ CompUSA
NorthQ
NZXT
Okia
Powmax
Q-Tec
Raidmax
Rocketfish
Rosewill
SFC
Shuttle
Skyhawk
Spire Coolers
Star Micro
STARTECH
Thermaltake Purepower NP
Thermaltake Purepower RU
Thermaltake TR2 (and TR2-RX)
TOPOWER TOP
Ultra X-Connect
Ultra X2 >greater than 700 watt
Ultra LSP
Wintech
XION
YoungYear
Zebronics
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:12:47 PM

Okay thanks for the heads up. What is the problem with that one? I selected it based on price and good reviews. This is why I put up this thread though to avoid buying the wrong thing. I havent bought it yet any suggestions for psu around the same price? Thanks again
m
0
l
Related resources
March 11, 2014 1:13:42 PM

Something that I always suggest to people is the addition of an SSD drive. If you have never experienced using one, it will blow your mind at how much faster they are. The performance bottleneck almost always occurs in the I/O part of your system, thus adding an SSD affects system performance as a whole. SSD's have seen a relatively sharp decline in price over the last several months. I would at least consider it. The one in this link is only 120GB, but it only costs 90 dollars! And the Samsung Evo is one of the best rated SSD's out there with very fast read/write performance. This SSD would really add to the performance of your proposed build.
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Electronics-EVO-Series-2-...
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:18:05 PM

Ill look into that. It may have to be a future upgrade. Can you have an hdd and ssd in the same device? Would I have issues reloading windows on a new drive in the future due to microsoft policys?
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:19:49 PM

admiraltalbot said:
Okay thanks for the heads up. What is the problem with that one? I selected it based on price and good reviews. This is why I put up this thread though to avoid buying the wrong thing. I havent bought it yet any suggestions for psu around the same price? Thanks again


You won't be able to get a decent PSU for under $50-60, but it's worth it.
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:21:23 PM

Ok understood
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:23:18 PM

yea with pcpartpicker with the promo -20$ it costs 29.99$

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/q9ep
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($29.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $29.99
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-11 16:22 EDT-0400)
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:26:14 PM

Awesome thanks! Hows the rest of my build? Was 150 an okay price for that gpu? And is that a good choice?
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:26:31 PM

ModernWarfare said:
yea with pcpartpicker with the promo -20$ it costs 29.99$

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/q9ep
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($29.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $29.99
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-11 16:22 EDT-0400)


Guess I was wrong...
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:26:52 PM

admiraltalbot said:
Ill look into that. It may have to be a future upgrade. Can you have an hdd and ssd in the same device? Would I have issues reloading windows on a new drive in the future due to microsoft policys?


You can certainly have an HDD and SSD in the same device. And if you purchase a windows license as a system builder you can transfer it from one PC to the next. Only when you buy a computer with Windows already installed do you run into the problem of Microsoft seeing the software as a pirated copy. I have run into this myself. Whenever you buy a computer with Windows already installed, it is forever linked to the motherboard that came in the PC. But if you build the system yourself, you don't have that problem.
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:37:54 PM

for 150$used is pretty much ok but you should've went with a gtx650 ti oc for 125-150 new.
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:38:44 PM

Perfect. Not sure if I should go with a small ssd Now and then add more or go with a big hdd now and add a good ssd in future. Kingston digital has a 120 ssd for 70$ that is about all I can afford for now. It would be about 10 dollars more than the 1 tb hdd
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 1:43:30 PM

Good I got worried that I compared them wrong. Phew!

m
0
l

Best solution

March 11, 2014 1:55:13 PM

so you're whole build is fine except psu any more questions?
Share
March 11, 2014 1:57:11 PM

What kind of settings do you think this system will play most games at?
m
0
l
March 11, 2014 2:02:37 PM

2 more questions what forms do I need to fill out to apply for bankruptcy and how do you hide a big ass computer from your wife?
m
0
l
March 12, 2014 1:45:12 AM

dafuq?, anyways the pc will run latest games at 1080p around 50+ older games 100+fps much older games 300+fps
m
0
l
!