Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question
Solved

What internal blue ray player works with windows 8.1? Most reviews I have read have said it worked on 8 but not on 8.1. I re

Tags:
  • Reviews
  • Storage
  • Windows 8
  • Blu-ray
Last response: in Storage
March 12, 2014 6:20:39 PM

What internal blue ray player works with windows 8.1? Most reviews I have read have said it worked on 8 but not on 8.1. I really only want to read blue rays so I can back them up on my hard drives. I don't care a thing about burning them

More about : internal blue ray player works windows reviews read worked

a c 229 G Storage
a b * Windows 8
March 12, 2014 6:36:28 PM

Anything that works on 8 should work on 8.1. There's only very minor changes to the underlying OS.
m
0
l
March 12, 2014 7:22:01 PM

Someone Somewhere said:
Anything that works on 8 should work on 8.1. There's only very minor changes to the underlying OS.

I wish that was true but everywhere I read about these players(the hardware) it tells me I need to get a software package like UFUSoft Windows Blu-ray Player to actually play the discs. Unfortunately that is not free software.
DVD Playback support is not included by default in Windows 8 and 8.1. You either need to buy the Windows Media Center pack for $10, or use third party software.
m
0
l
Related resources

Best solution

a c 229 G Storage
a b * Windows 8
March 12, 2014 7:33:26 PM

Yes, but that doesn't change between 8 and 8.1. You needed BD software for 8, and for 7 and Vista as well.

VLC can do DVDs and unencrypted BDs for free, but doesn't have the keys to get around the copy protection.
Share
March 12, 2014 7:40:47 PM

Someone Somewhere said:
Yes, but that doesn't change between 8 and 8.1. You needed BD software for 8, and for 7 and Vista as well.

VLC can do DVDs and unencrypted BDs for free, but doesn't have the keys to get around the copy protection.


I use anydvd for the de-encryption function and that seems to work just fine. I guess I just need to buy some software to play the blue ray discs which I find rather annoying actually. At the moment, while my blue ray player shows up in disk management it does not seem to be recognized by Windows. At least when I put a disk in it, nothing happens and it does not show up anywhere. My other two dvd drives(non blue ray) play just fine. Either I have a bad blue ray player or it was not installed correctly although it had worked some months ago. Very frustrating
m
0
l
a c 229 G Storage
a b * Windows 8
March 12, 2014 10:23:58 PM

Do DVDs in the bluray drive play OK?

I'd consider reinstalling the drivers, and checking that both SATA and power cables are plugged in properly.

EDIT: Also, do you have AnyDVD, or AnyDVD HD? The normal version won't play BDs or HD-DVDs.
m
0
l
March 13, 2014 6:50:06 AM

Someone Somewhere said:
Do DVDs in the bluray drive play OK?

I'd consider reinstalling the drivers, and checking that both SATA and power cables are plugged in properly.

EDIT: Also, do you have AnyDVD, or AnyDVD HD? The normal version won't play BDs or HD-DVDs.


nope, dvds don't play in the drive as it is not recognized at all by Windows except in the Disk Management section of Computer Management. I'm going to try to uninstall it from the computer it is in and move it to my main computer and see what happens. Thanks very much for your help. Oh yes, forgot, it used to work but I had not used it for months until yesterday.
m
0
l
March 13, 2014 6:50:50 AM

I forgot to mention that I had already uninstalled and re-installed the drive yesterday with no luck.
m
0
l