FX-9590 SUPER HOT - or underpowered? Maybe need new PSU

suresh419

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2010
Hello guys, I'm a computer technician and I run my own shop here in San Juan, Puerto Rico. I build customized gaming system and little by little I'm begging to make really carve out a good niche here.

Even though I have many years of building PCs there are sometimes thing I'm either just not seeing or plainly don't make sense. See, I sold a custom gaming system to a client of mine and about the 1st month he started getting what we think are overheating problems.

Here are the specs, please refer to my squarespace site to view pictures and specs on the machine (I assure there's not malware nor money scheme), its just a very detailed specs on the machine which I do not want to re-type, go to: www.gobanditech.com/signature-pcs/darth-russian

We used prime 95 and it said it was ok. Afterwards we algo used.... (forgot its name) another stressing software and whenever the CPU gets abot 65 or more we are in danger zone and and moment it will shutdown (without freezing). The GPU runs hot, though all r9 are meant to run hot and this isn't the problem.

So here are the mayor problems:

1. After 65 degrees of the CPU, we are in the danger zone and any minute it will shutdown. Curiously you can just turn it back on right away as if nothing happen, but if you stress it again... well, it happens again.

2. The air from the stock FX-9590 water cooling comes out super hot (duh)... but I think it didn't when I gave it to him

Theories:

1. Bad CPU, but I do not know how to properly diagnose such a thing and send such documents to AMD to get a replacement.Please help if you do.

2. Need better cooling... kinda unlikely since this PCs has a lot more fans, but hey its the only FX-9590 I've put on a system and those 5Ghz turbo might be the culprit