Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

My first PC build, please review

Last response: in Video Games
Share
March 30, 2014 3:08:43 AM

http://au.pcpartpicker.com/user/Burga88/saved/4ddf

wanted to keep it around $1100 AUD, please have a look, and let me know if there's anything you'd change. Thanks guys!!

More about : build review

Related resources
March 30, 2014 3:33:06 AM



the case you selected has not good cable management and airflow
the memory you selected is not much good reviewed , if you can get good one in this price so why not go good . .
PSU you selected has some weak capacitors inside that's why
m
0
l
March 30, 2014 3:37:09 AM

STACKS ON DECK said:


the case you selected has not good cable management and airflow
the memory you selected is not much good reviewed , if you can get good one in this price so why not go good . .
PSU you selected has some weak capacitors inside that's why


Thanks mate:) 

m
0
l
March 30, 2014 4:03:57 AM

You are going to want a better motherboard running an 8 core FX cpu.
Something like this at the very least:
http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_i...

Why? Because anything cpu intensive is going to make the vrms on that 980DE3 board cry in pain with no vrm cooling and i guarantee you will run into thermal throttling issues.
I'm confused as to why that board even has support for the 8 core cpus when some of the cheaper 970 chipset boards don't.
m
0
l
March 30, 2014 4:05:47 AM

you welcome
m
0
l
March 30, 2014 4:35:20 AM

ShadyHamster said:
You are going to want a better motherboard running an 8 core FX cpu.
Something like this at the very least:
http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_i...

Why? Because anything cpu intensive is going to make the vrms on that 980DE3 board cry in pain with no vrm cooling and i guarantee you will run into thermal throttling issues.
I'm confused as to why that board even has support for the 8 core cpus when some of the cheaper 970 chipset boards don't.


+1
I saw there is Asus M5A97 Evo, although it is 970 Chipset, but it runs almost as the 990 Chipset motherboards, it has the same power phase design of the Asus M5A99X, but without the SLI abilities. Or at least get the Gigabyte 970A-D3P, but don't expect some good overclocking
Also why not go for R9 280X, since it is $110 cheaper and there is not much difference between the R9 280X and GTX 770 in games. Why spend $110 for almost the same performance.
m
0
l
March 30, 2014 5:52:11 AM

Thanks guys! So, number 1 I'm pretty new to building, so what mobo would you recommend?

And I see the 280x doesn't review as well, but I'm definitely open to saving $110, any ideas why the 770 is recommended over the 280x?

Thanks again guys
m
0
l
March 30, 2014 5:58:09 AM

The GTX 770 is recommended over the R9 280X because of the crypto mining prices for the AMD cards. But that is the case in US and Canada only, rest of the world, like Asia, Europe and Australia, it is quite opposite, the GTX 770 is more expensive than the R9 280X. Plus other down side of the R9 280X is the power consumption, but for $110 cheaper than the GTX 770, you can invest in better PSU.
Here are some benchmarks between R9 280X and GTX 770, and tell me if the $110 AUD is worth it for the GTX 770
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/product/1041?vs=1037
Motherboard suggestion:
http://au.pcpartpicker.com/part/asus-motherboard-m5a97e...
or
http://au.pcpartpicker.com/part/gigabyte-motherboard-ga...

Btw, here is an Intel build you might consider. It is not made for overclocking like the AMD, but it will do the job just fine, or even better in some other games.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4440 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor ($214.00 @ CPL Online)
Motherboard: ASRock B85M Pro4 Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($87.00 @ CPL Online)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($99.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($69.00 @ CPL Online)
Video Card: XFX Radeon R9 280X 3GB Video Card ($319.00 @ PLE Computers)
Case: Zalman Z5 Plus ATX Mid Tower Case ($75.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Power Supply: Antec High Current Gamer 620W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($115.00 @ CPL Online)
Optical Drive: LG GH24NSB0 DVD/CD Writer ($22.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($115.00 @ CPL Online)
Total: $1115.00
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-31 00:02 EST+1100)
m
0
l
March 30, 2014 6:16:16 AM

Thanks! Think I'll go the 280x then. Why do you think I should swap to Intel? Sorry for the questions haha I'm learning!
m
0
l
March 30, 2014 6:27:50 AM

Burga88 said:
Thanks! Think I'll go the 280x then. Why do you think I should swap to Intel? Sorry for the questions haha I'm learning!


I prefer both AMD and Intel CPUs, both are great at gaming and other software and applications. The main reason i suggested Intel, is because of the poor motherboard selection for AMD in your price range. With Intel CPU that is locked, the choice was much easier and cheaper.
As you can see, the Intel build will be just fine with $87 motherboard, while with the AMD build, the motherboard that you will be needing is more than $150 (i am talking about true 990 chipset motherboard, yes the 970 are fine, but what you really want for 8 core AMD is 990 chipset.
m
0
l
March 30, 2014 6:44:08 AM

looking better now . . .
m
0
l

Best solution

March 30, 2014 6:44:37 AM

Burga88 said:
http://au.pcpartpicker.com/user/Burga88/saved/4ddf

Updated yet again haha! A LOT better for same price?


Asrock 990 doesn't support 8350/8320, only older 8000 series AMD, like the 8150/8120, which are pretty bad and obsolete right now
If you want to stick to AMD, this is what i recommend:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($189.00 @ PCCaseGear)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($39.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Motherboard: Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($179.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($99.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($69.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Video Card: XFX Radeon R9 280X 3GB Video Card ($319.00 @ PLE Computers)
Case: Zalman Z5 Plus ATX Mid Tower Case ($75.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Power Supply: Antec High Current Gamer 620W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($115.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Optical Drive: LG GH24NSB0 DVD/CD Writer ($22.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($115.00 @ CPL Online)
Total: $1221.00
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-31 00:46 EST+1100)
Share
March 30, 2014 6:55:43 AM

Thanks mate!!
m
0
l
!