800-900$ i7- 4770k build

munozfernando92

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2011
So, I want to build a system with an i7 4770k.

Here is what I want:

A motherboard with SLI support. (I want to pop in eventually a 780 ti in a month or two, and perhaps even a second one in a year or so. (Ive been looking at ROG motherboards and they look promising)).

A PSU with enough power for this( eventual setup).^^^

A SSD as my primary hard drive.(Probably around 120+ gb capacity).

I have an optical drive and HDD already.

Im new to building computers, but I really want a computer that has tons of future potential. I know the 4770k will let me juice it more, but as such, I want a capable CPU cooler for moderate OCing.

Id like 8 gig sticks of RAM, so ideally 16 gigs for starters, but if not, then an 8 gig stick for starters.

Last thing, I would love if the motherboard came with an optical port for my 7.1 surround system. If not, no biggie, But if thats the case, then the motherboard should have room for a sound card.

Thanks in advance.

dont waste ur money on a 4770k. This month is supposed to be the release of the replacement stuff for the 4770k. Devils canyon. I just returned asus board and 4770k yesterday.

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-haswell-e-devils-canyon-pentium-anniversary-edition-broadwell,26326.html

the 4770k is a rather hot cpu and doesnt overclock as good as it should. Thats intels fault for using crappy TIM on the cpu. Devils canyon is supposed to be from what i have understood a good improvement over the current.