FX-8350 OC to 4.4Ghz at 1.32V idling around 37-42C using HWMonitor and CM Hyper 212 EVO Plus

CGreenburg

Reputable
Apr 2, 2014
Hey guys,

I'm completely new to Tom's Hardware besides the fact that I use this site for researching a lot on computer hardware for my recent build so I can get an understanding of stuff. Anyways, the title of this thread explains everything. I just built my first computer about two weeks ago and have everything up and running perfectly; better than expected. I used the CM Hyper 212 EVO Plus aftermarket cooler for the FX-8350 and Arctic Silver 5 as the thermal compound. I overclocked using BIOS/UEFI on my Crosshair V Formula-Z to 4.4Ghz at 1.32V. Idling only, my temps range from 37-42C. Under load(Battlefield 4 for 1+ hours), My temps never pass 60C using HWMonitor but are around 54-58C while playing Battlefield 4. My main question is this: Are my temperatures idle AND under load safe? Also, is the idling temperature reducing the life of my CPU? I would like to keep it for around 2-3 years until I upgrade again, since I'm in school for Computer Engineering and want to have a stable computer for running Multisim and other non-vigorous applications. Thanks for any comments and answers!

- Chad Greenburg

WaKy

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2014
Welcome to Tom's Hardware !
As long as your temps under load are under 62 C you will be okay ! Make sure to check from time to time. I assume u already ran a stability test !

CGreenburg

Reputable
Apr 2, 2014

I ran prime95 for 20 minutes and my CPU reached 66 C so I stopped it because I don't want my CPU being damaged. I've heard prime95 will shut off as soon as even one core fails but, being my first build ever, I'm kind of skeptical and don't want anything wrong to happen.

There is no good reason to ever run a stress test like prime 95 . It wont tell you anything you dont already know : your temps are fine . No game will ever load your cpu like that

CGreenburg

Reputable
Apr 2, 2014