Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Gaming PC build opinion and suggestions?

Last response: in Systems
Share
April 2, 2014 12:49:32 PM

Hello there,

Before telling you anything more I would like you to know that I am new to computer building and actually this is my first build, ever.So, I would like to build my first PC which is gonna be used for gaming and usually for recording, while gaming. For sure there is gonna be video editing, not so hard powered tho.
Games I am gonna be playing, not certainly anything, but I guess there are gonna be games like Crysis 3, Infamous, and probably the (I hope) upcoming GTA 5, PC version. Pretty much sure all of those need some great system power. My budget is not higher than $1200.

I started picking my PC parts at pcpartpicker and this is what I made:

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/KostasKyroudis/saved/4flA

That's what I think I need and I kinda liked it, can you please give me your opinion about my future PC build and some suggestions for mistakes or changes. Also windows 8 is included in this, but not other input or output hardware, so they are not in my budget price (no worries about 'em).

Explain if possible cause as I said I'm a noob, thanks!
a c 268 4 Gaming
April 2, 2014 1:01:40 PM

Just changed a few things, to get you a better power supply, and get you under your budget:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($151.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler ($81.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($119.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($84.81 @ Amazon)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($329.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case ($64.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 520W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($22.95 @ Amazon)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8 (OEM) (64-bit) ($97.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Total: $1094.68
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-02 15:59 EDT-0400)

The 8320 is essentially the same thing, and with the D14 (great choice, by the way) you should be able to overclock it pretty dang well. Overall very impressed with your build for being your first build :) 
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
April 2, 2014 1:09:57 PM

HiTechObsessed said:
Just changed a few things, to get you a better power supply, and get you under your budget:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($151.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler ($81.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($119.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($84.81 @ Amazon)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($329.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case ($64.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 520W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($22.95 @ Amazon)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8 (OEM) (64-bit) ($97.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Total: $1094.68
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-02 15:59 EDT-0400)

The 8320 is essentially the same thing, and with the D14 (great choice, by the way) you should be able to overclock it pretty dang well. Overall very impressed with your build for being your first build :) 


Is that RAM a bit too tall for the noctua cooler? Maybe you should swap for low profile corsair vengeance ones
m
0
l
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
April 2, 2014 1:10:46 PM

Intel I5 + GTX780
I5-4570 vs FX-8320 = http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i5-4570-vs-AMD-FX-83...

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: ASRock H87 Pro4 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($91.48 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($74.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 780 3GB Video Card ($489.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Zalman Z5 ATX Mid Tower Case ($33.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair CX 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($44.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224DB/BEBE DVD/CD Writer ($14.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($89.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1080.39
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-02 16:11 EDT-0400)
m
1
l
April 3, 2014 1:44:05 PM

@HiTechObsessed
About the power supply, I've seen that the system is gonna be at 464 watts, won't a 520W one affect my PC or maybe make it heat? (Not sure what power supply really affects...). With the same money I can get the 600W one.Actually I would like to get the 8350 cpu, not to need a new one in the upcoming early future. I am pretty sure 8320 runs at 3.5GHz and it will be hard to be overclocked to almost 5GHz, however 8350 can be easily oc that far.Do you think the video card I selected fits the system and my expectations on gaming? Good to try decreasing my budget but a difference of $30 doesnt really matter for me.
Thanks for your reply alot!

@3Dns
I don't really fancy going with intel products as long as I'm not gonna be doing other things on my computer but gaming and soft video editing and rendering. I know intel gives alot more power for others of operations on your PC but its not necessary for me. I believe the video card you offered is way expensive? or is it just me... You actually offer a completely new build, do you think yours would be better? I actually wanted some kinda known company computer parts for the begin and then go for something different in the long run as I get to know them. Thanks for your post and your time!

May I ask you if I should run an SSD on my build, which, is faster? Also, getting Operating system from OutletPC won't be a better idea as long as it's cheaper? For example is a trusted company?
m
0
l
a c 268 4 Gaming
April 4, 2014 7:42:38 AM

Kostas Kyroudis said:
@HiTechObsessed
About the power supply, I've seen that the system is gonna be at 464 watts, won't a 520W one affect my PC or maybe make it heat? (Not sure what power supply really affects...). With the same money I can get the 600W one.Actually I would like to get the 8350 cpu, not to need a new one in the upcoming early future. I am pretty sure 8320 runs at 3.5GHz and it will be hard to be overclocked to almost 5GHz, however 8350 can be easily oc that far.Do you think the video card I selected fits the system and my expectations on gaming? Good to try decreasing my budget but a difference of $30 doesnt really matter for me.
Thanks for your reply alot!

@3Dns
I don't really fancy going with intel products as long as I'm not gonna be doing other things on my computer but gaming and soft video editing and rendering. I know intel gives alot more power for others of operations on your PC but its not necessary for me. I believe the video card you offered is way expensive? or is it just me... You actually offer a completely new build, do you think yours would be better? I actually wanted some kinda known company computer parts for the begin and then go for something different in the long run as I get to know them. Thanks for your post and your time!

May I ask you if I should run an SSD on my build, which, is faster? Also, getting Operating system from OutletPC won't be a better idea as long as it's cheaper? For example is a trusted company?


Your system running an overclocked 8350 with a GTX 770 will draw a max of around 325-350w at peak load, which really will only happen during stress tests. You need to worry more about quality of power supply opposed to total wattage output.

The 8350 + GTX 770 will give you maxed out on pretty much everything at 1080p. I run almost everything maxed with 40-60+ fps on my i5 + GTX 760 that is overclocked to stock 770 performance.

The GTX 780 he listed is much better than the 770, but the caveat with his build is that it is a locked CPU and cannot be overclocked. Whether or not that's a problem for you is your call. The i5 + 780 will always be better at gaming than the 8350 + 770, though.

About the SSD, if an extra $70 or so isn't a problem, I would definitely recommend one. It really speeds up the overall feel of the entire system, boots up quicker (my system boots in 7.2 seconds on Windows 8) and decreases loading times for gaming drastically. It won't actually increase gaming performance, though, so keep that in mind.
m
0
l
April 4, 2014 7:56:54 AM

So, maybe its a good idea to go with intel and maybe 780? That case should I stay with the same motherboard and cooler, however I pretty much believe it's not neccessary. Also how much is it gonna cost, if so?
Ty for the ideas, I somehow understand better how things work.
m
0
l

Best solution

a c 268 4 Gaming
April 4, 2014 8:10:02 AM

You can actually go with a 780 + 4670k which will give you overclockability with a good cooler from Noctua. If you add the SSD here, you go just a tad over the $1200 number you are looking for, but if you take it out you're definitely under budget.

I always recommend Intel over AMD once you get to a higher budget range, as Intel just gives better and more stable performance. Having said that, there isn't anything wrong with going the AMD route if that's what you choose.

An overclocked i5 + GTX 780 will last you a LONG time playing in High/Ultra at 1080p at 60+ FPS.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($227.99 @ NCIX US)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U9B SE2 37.9 CFM CPU Cooler ($46.99 @ Mwave)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Pro4 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($89.99 @ Micro Center)
Memory: A-Data XPG V1.0 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($63.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($67.99 @ Micro Center)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($57.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 780 3GB Video Card ($449.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Zalman Z5 ATX Mid Tower Case ($33.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Antec High Current Gamer 620W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($79.99 @ Amazon)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224DB/BEBE DVD/CD Writer ($14.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($89.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1223.88
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-04 11:07 EDT-0400)
Share
April 4, 2014 1:02:19 PM

You gave me some really good ideas, I appreciate your time helping me, very much.
I'll try to figure out what I really need/ is better for me, and try my best to build my first PC. Talk to you later and thanks again!
m
0
l
a c 268 4 Gaming
April 4, 2014 4:52:20 PM

No problem :)  Good luck on your first build, it's fun!
m
0
l
!