Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

First Build Review

Last response: in Systems
Share
April 10, 2014 12:50:08 PM

Hello forum,
I am currently in the process of piecing together my first gaming build.
I fell like I am pretty much done but keep looking for different ways to improve.
My budget is around 1500-1800 $

here is what i currently have planned:
pc partpicker link

I wanted your opinion on the overall build and if there is anything I am doing wrong (spending money that could be used elsewhere on wrong components)

In addition, I am going to be purchasing everything around August-September, after moving to New Jersey. Will I need to reevaluate my parts then or will a few months time difference not affect my choice of parts? (as in new better parts released, price drops, etc...)

thanks in advance

More about : build review

a b 4 Gaming
April 10, 2014 12:54:45 PM

I would say wait and reevaluate when you move. 4-5 months is still a fair amount of time for newer tech to come out.
m
0
l

Best solution

a b 4 Gaming
April 10, 2014 1:00:34 PM

Don't bother with getting an I7 for gaming, stick with an I5. Same goes for Ram, stick with 8gb's. Get a larger SSD, at least 120gb/128gb with the money you save. For a build like this, skip the Corsair CX/CXM/GS series. Any other Corsair PSU will do well though. Or, go for SeaSonic, Xfx, Antec instead.

As was stated above though, this is just a rough outline, because by the time you want to buy, either newer tech will have come out, or prices will have changed.

Other than that, looks fairly solid, but I'd change to a different mouse myself. Logitech, Razer are fairly solid mice manufacturers. I've never heard of that brand.
Share
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
April 10, 2014 1:05:20 PM

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($209.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master TPC 812 86.2 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($70.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: Asus Z87-Pro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($169.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($64.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($139.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($54.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($319.99 @ NCIX US)
Case: Corsair 500R White ATX Mid Tower Case ($89.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: SeaSonic G 550W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($82.99 @ Mwave)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro (OEM) (64-bit) ($138.64 @ Amazon)
Monitor: Asus VN248H-P 23.8" Monitor ($134.99 @ Newegg)
Keyboard: Microsoft SIDEWINDER X4 Wired Gaming Keyboard ($49.85 @ OutletPC)
Mouse: Anker AK-98ANDS2368-BA Wired Laser Mouse ($59.99 @ Amazon)
Other: SteelSeries QcK Gaming Mouse Pad (Black) ($8.48)
Total: $1615.81
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-10 16:03 EDT-0400)

This is a good build, but if you want to SLI, you'll have to get a more powerful PSU, but I doubt you'll do that. You don't need more than 8GB for gaming, 16GB is overkill.

Since you're buying on August/September, you'll want to update the build for newer and better parts for the same price.
m
0
l
April 11, 2014 7:33:35 AM

Thank you all for your answers!

One thing other question though,
When researching components I find that a lot of review are outdated, so I assume when I reevaluate in a few months from now the reviews I find will probably be mostly the same ones I am currently finding. Are there specific websites you would recommend were I can find constant up-to-date reviews and part comparisons other than this one?
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
April 11, 2014 11:03:23 AM

For graphics card reviews I really like Techpowerup because they use the same methodology between cards, and you can see how each card performs at 1080p on o a certain game, with the same cpu/ram/etc. They also have links for different review websites.

Also, if you are waiting to buy till then, you might wait for black friday deals as well. Some really good deals out there for that sale.
m
0
l
April 11, 2014 11:16:25 AM

Swordkd said:
For graphics card reviews I really like Techpowerup because they use the same methodology between cards, and you can see how each card performs at 1080p on o a certain game, with the same cpu/ram/etc. They also have links for different review websites.

Also, if you are waiting to buy till then, you might wait for black friday deals as well. Some really good deals out there for that sale.

Thanks again,
I will check them out
m
0
l
!