Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question
Solved

Need opinion/advice on a video editing build.

Tags:
  • Photoshop
  • Video Editing
  • Build
  • Components
Last response: in Components
April 12, 2014 6:23:55 PM

I want to make a solid build for mainly premeire/AE/photoshop for less than $1300. The build so far is. CPU: Intel Core i5 4670
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
PSU: Thermaltake Smart Standard 750W Plus Bronze
GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX 750 TI 2GB
Ram: Kingston hyperx blue 1600MHz (4x4)
HDD: Western Digital Blue 7200rpm 1TB
Case: Fractal Design Black Pearl
OS: Win 7 pro
Price so far is $1,020,97
Is what I have good/compatible and is there anything else I need? I won't be overclocking or gaming.

More about : opinion advice video editing build

April 12, 2014 6:26:00 PM

I would add in a second drive for redundancy. If you ever had one hard drive fail the other drive would have a mirror image
m
0
l
April 12, 2014 8:12:51 PM

I'd probably do something like this. Hard drive speed is always a good thing when it comes to rendering. You can do RAID hdd's or SSD's in place of my build. I like to render my stuff on my SSD and then move them back to my storage drives. I prefer the proc I have because it is a core i7 but without overclocking. Hyperthreaded cores will trump the quad core any day. Z87 is optional of course.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor ($244.48 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($138.99 @ NCIX US)
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3-2133 Memory ($283.41 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Sandisk Ultra Plus 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($129.99 @ Micro Center)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($56.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card ($144.89 @ Newegg)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($84.99 @ Micro Center)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($139.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1283.71
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-12 23:27 EDT-0400)
m
0
l
Related resources

Best solution

April 16, 2014 3:33:23 AM

ohyouknow said:
I'd probably do something like this. Hard drive speed is always a good thing when it comes to rendering. You can do RAID hdd's or SSD's in place of my build. I like to render my stuff on my SSD and then move them back to my storage drives. I prefer the proc I have because it is a core i7 but without overclocking. Hyperthreaded cores will trump the quad core any day. Z87 is optional of course.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor ($244.48 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($138.99 @ NCIX US)
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3-2133 Memory ($283.41 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Sandisk Ultra Plus 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($129.99 @ Micro Center)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($56.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card ($144.89 @ Newegg)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($84.99 @ Micro Center)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($139.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1283.71
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-12 23:27 EDT-0400)


Ok i have a few questions about your build here

Q:Why choose 32GB of ram ? It's useless , the highest amount of ram needed atm is 16GB and spend the money on a better GPU
Q: 750W is just USELESS for the build you choosed there , he would only need 400W if he'd go with your build , so is there a certain reason that you choosed that PSU ? PS : higher isn't alway better , especially with PSU's .

Here's my build , anyway :

Option A
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($279.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($35.98 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: ASRock B75 Pro3 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($79.49 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($139.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($151.95 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($56.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card ($159.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($119.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: Cooler Master VSM 550W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($139.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1214.33
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-16 06:56 EDT-0400)

Option B
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($109.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($35.98 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: ASRock 980DE3/U3S3 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($69.99 @ Micro Center)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($139.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($151.95 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($56.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($389.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($119.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: Antec EarthWatts Platinum 650W 80+ Platinum Certified ATX Power Supply ($104.99 @ NCIX US)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($139.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1299.83
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-16 06:59 EDT-0400)

First option would be better for gaming and good enough for rendering/photoshop/after effects
Second option would be better for rendering/photoshop/after effects due to the cores and also for gaming due to the 770 , which can be replaced with a 760 for a cheaper build which will play BF4 and other high-end games at a good 60FPS in high settings .
If i was you i would go for the second one

Option C:760 and amd fx-8350 build

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor ($179.00 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock 980DE3/U3S3 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($69.99 @ Micro Center)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2133 Memory ($149.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($151.95 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($56.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 760 2GB Video Card ($239.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($119.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: Antec EarthWatts Platinum 650W 80+ Platinum Certified ATX Power Supply ($104.99 @ NCIX US)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($139.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1242.84
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-16 06:45 EDT-0400)

And don't forget the optical drive

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

Optical Drive: Lite-On DS-8A9SH-01 DVD/CD Writer ($29.52 @ SuperBiiz)
Total: $29.52
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-16 06:52 EDT-0400)

ohyouknow , please note that i'm not trying to be mean in any way .
Share
April 19, 2014 4:07:07 PM

I changed some things.

http://

Am I splurging to much on the motherboard, should I get a smaller psu. There won't be much be much gaming on this, but how will the 750ti handle games.
m
0
l
April 19, 2014 4:41:19 PM

http://pcpartpicker.com/part/xfx-power-supply-p1750bnlg... this is a better psu, the corsair cx brand is not good at all, this is by xfx, and everything they do is of high quality.

As for the motherboard, haswelp has the vrms on the i7 itself, so a motherboard matters less for overclocking, if you wanted to save some money, you could get the ASUS Z87-a

The 750ti will run games at med/low settings at 60fps
m
0
l
April 20, 2014 1:10:07 AM

villafy said:
I changed some things.

http://

Am I splurging to much on the motherboard, should I get a smaller psu. There won't be much be much gaming on this, but how will the 750ti handle games.


Yes you are splurging too much on the mobo , and you don't need a 750W psu ! You only need a 400W one if you're gonna go with your build .
There's one common error that the beginners do , it's that they spend too much on the CPU but not enough on the GPU .
Personally I would go with a cheaper CPU and spend that money on a higher-end GPU , because most games are using the GPU more than the CPU
So here is what I would do if you want a gaming and video editing build :
Option A:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($209.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z87 Killer ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($117.00 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($129.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($153.95 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($79.28 @ SuperBiiz)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 4GB Video Card ($379.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($100.00 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: Antec EarthWatts Green 650W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($76.90 @ Adorama)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1297.06
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-20 04:06 EDT-0400)

Option B:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($209.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z87 Killer ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($117.00 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($129.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($153.95 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($79.28 @ SuperBiiz)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 760 4GB Video Card ($298.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($100.00 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: Antec EarthWatts Green 650W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($76.90 @ Adorama)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($19.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1216.06
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-04-20 04:08 EDT-0400)

The i7's are better for video editing etc ... but it doesn't mean that an i5 won't do it .

m
0
l