Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question
Solved

First PC build need opinion on parts.

Tags:
  • Build
  • Homebuilt
Last response: in Systems
May 9, 2014 1:24:26 PM

I'm going to be building my first pc with the intent of being able to play on max/high settings. The games I have in mind are Battlefield 4, Day-Z epoch mod and Standalone, rust, mine craft and so forth. I've done careful research to make sure everything is compatible and would like an opinion I'm trying not to break the 2,000 limit. Parts are:
Case: Thermal take chaser MK-1
Motherboard: Asus sabertooth Z87 LGA 1150
CPU: Intel i5 4430 quad core
GPU: EVGA GTX 760 (single card)
PSU: Corsair CX750 (750 watt)
RAM: corsair vengeance 16gb(2x8gb)
Memory: 1Tb hard drive and 250 SSD
Cooling: Corsair liquid cooler
Hope it's a good starting build. Thanks for the input.

More about : build opinion parts

May 9, 2014 1:27:56 PM

do you mean $2000, and do you need an OS (if so, 7 or 8), monitor, and keyboard/mouse?
m
0
l
May 9, 2014 1:29:27 PM

problems:
Get a 60 or 120 SSD for the OS and important programs. getting 250+ on an SSD is putting a lot of eggs in one basket.
Get 8 GB RAM instead of 16
Get a cheaper motherboard, you dont need z87 you arent overclocking (non K cpu and no cooler)
Get a cheaper case


use the money save to
A. Get a PSU from ANTEC SEASONIC XFX or a higher end CORSAIR (non cx )
B. Afford a slightly better processor. that i5 only has about 15-20% single core performance over the FX 8320.
m
2
l
Related resources
May 9, 2014 1:33:13 PM

Unless you are planning on adding a second GTX 760 in the future, your PSU is overkill. You will only need ~ 500 watts for a system running a single GTX 760. Also, I'd avoid going with a Corsair CX PSU, that is their budget line and uses cheap components in the build, I recommend something from Seasonic, XFX, Antec or a different series Corsair PSU.

Also, I'd consider dropping down to 8 GB RAM, more than plenty for most games. Use the saved money to get a better CPU, maybe a "k" series which will allow you to overclock.
m
1
l

Best solution

May 9, 2014 1:36:20 PM

This build barely breaks $1000 and will be perfect for your needs. Or you could go with a 290X but the games you will be paying will not use that much power

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.99 @ NCIX US)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.94 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Pro3 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($84.99 @ Micro Center)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($79.99 @ Micro Center)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: MSI Radeon R9 280 3GB TWIN FROZR Video Card ($265.38 @ Newegg)
Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case ($44.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 620W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($83.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224DB/BEBE DVD/CD Writer ($14.99 @ NCIX US)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($89.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1058.22
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-05-09 16:36 EDT-0400)
Share
May 9, 2014 1:37:57 PM

Ignore me. Everything I said and more has apparently already been said already.
m
1
l
May 9, 2014 4:47:55 PM

@1N07

I guess great minds just think alike lol
m
0
l
May 11, 2014 4:50:24 PM

Danbuscus25 said:
do you mean $2000, and do you need an OS (if so, 7 or 8), monitor, and keyboard/mouse?


m
0
l
May 11, 2014 4:53:54 PM

Yes I'm talking $2,000. I do need an operating system so what do you recommend is better for gaming and general use. I already have a keyboard, mouse and monitor incorporated in the price. But in terms of hardware do you think I'll be alright with my CPU and GPU to run such games on high/ultra setting?
m
0
l
May 11, 2014 5:00:00 PM

At the moment I'm starting with one gtx 760 but down the road i plan on getting a GTX 780 ti, possibly a titan. I don't want to get rid of the case I'd rather pay a little more for that. And I originally started with an i7 4770k CPU. I'll look into another PSU what do you recommend for the cards mentioned earlier.
m
0
l
May 11, 2014 5:24:26 PM

I'm hoping to not have to overclock because I Don't Want to risk I just want to be able to run on high or ultra settings with a Decent amount of FPS preferably at 60FPs or more
m
0
l
May 11, 2014 6:51:32 PM

Go with the build i showed you. It goes perfectly with your needs
m
0
l
May 11, 2014 9:06:11 PM

Alright as long as I can run at good FPS on high. Is 16gb ram overkill? And the reason I had a large SSD was because I planned to store my games on there so they would boot up faster. One more question should I still stick with a 750 watt PSU since I plan on upgrading my GPU down the road or maybe an SLI in the GTX 760
m
0
l
May 11, 2014 9:22:11 PM

this might seem crazy...but just an idea. since you are already thinking about the titan or 780ti down the road, i would say invest more now in a CPU and cut costs everywhere else...im talking 6 real intel cores (12 w HT), not 4+ HT (like the i7 4930k). this will really put you a in a good position speaking in terms of longevity. once DX12 rolls out in some years, and it can use all the cores no matter the game, you will be on top and wont have to worry about bottlenecks outside of GPU upgrades.
m
0
l
May 12, 2014 3:55:06 AM

Beezy said:
this might seem crazy...but just an idea. since you are already thinking about the titan or 780ti down the road, i would say invest more now in a CPU and cut costs everywhere else...im talking 6 real intel cores (12 w HT), not 4+ HT (like the i7 4930k). this will really put you a in a good position speaking in terms of longevity. once DX12 rolls out in some years, and it can use all the cores no matter the game, you will be on top and wont have to worry about bottlenecks outside of GPU upgrades.


But then how will he play games right now at ultra? “Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.” -Mother Teresa. He will always be worrying about the future and not what he wants to play right now
m
0
l