$1000 USD Gaming PC Build

Das_Luftwaffenas

Reputable
May 17, 2014
Approximate Purchase Date: e.g.: this week (the closer the better) 2-3 weeks

Budget Range: $1000 after rebates. Can go slightly over, but would prefer not to.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming and general use.

Are you buying a monitor: No for now I will use my 32" HDTV.

Parts to Upgrade: Everything. This is my first build.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes. Most likely Windows 7. I am open the possibility of Windows 8.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I am not sure really where to buy from. I defer to your knowledge

Parts Preferences: Intel for CPU. Nvidia for GPU

Overclocking: Most likely in the future but not at this moment.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe in the future if necessary.

Your Monitor Resolution: Umm When I plug my laptop into my TV (my laptop screen is broken) The resolution that looks correct is 1360x768.

Additional Comments: I just want the best parts that I can get within my budget. I just want a practical build that will do what it is supposed to. I do not care about it being loud or ugly. As long as it gets the job done I will be happy.

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: I have been stuck playing on consoles for years and now I have some spare money to get something I have wanted for a long time. I can't wait to get to use all those awesome mods people create and play some survival horror games that only the pc has.

Extra Information: I would like to play all the latest games on as high settings as possible, however I have no problem with turning down some settings if I need to. I would like to have this build last as long as it can (wouldn't everybody) and just upgrade the GPU sometime later and other parts if needed.
I have done some research and have seen many people recommend the Intel i5 4670k and the GTX 770 2GB. So if those are good and compatible and whatnot then that sounds good to me. Again I defer to your knowledge.