Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Please review my first planned build (£700-£800)

Last response: in Components
Share
May 18, 2014 7:51:46 AM

Hey there everybody. I've been thinking for a long time that it's time to get a PC and have finally come up with a build :D  The only problem is that I don't know if it's as optimal as it could be for my budget.

Here is a list of my parts (NOTE the prices are approximates):

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor (£160)

Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5 Intel Z97 (Socket 1150) DDR3 ATX Motherboard (£110)

GPU: Palit Nvidia GeForce GTX 770 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Card (£220)

RAM: TeamGroup Vulcan ORANGE 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-19200C11 2400MHz Dual Channel Kit (£55)

Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler (£25)

PSU: Corsair CX 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply (£55)

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (£35)

SSD: Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk (£45)

Case: Aerocool V3X Advance Devil Red Edition Midi-Tower - Black/Red (£25)

The total came up to around £730 which I think is very good. So please leave your thoughts and suggestions on the build and if I should change anything. Someone also recommended a monitor, the ASUS VS239H which brought me up to around £850 (pretty much the max I can pay) but if there is a better monitor out there for relatively the same price, I will compromise. Oh and I plan on overclocking too if possible so keep that in mind.

I also have some questions about some components.
First off, is it worth getting a Z97 rather than a possibly cheaper Z87 motherboard, since I hear there is not much of a change between them.
Secondly, is the GPU I chose reliable and consistent or should I pick out a different one.
Thirdly, is the RAM I picked out reliable since people are saying that they haven't heard of TeamGroup but others say it is good.
And lastly, is the case I picked out good enough to support the parts I picked out because I cannot find ANY reviews on it (at least in English).

That's about it and I hope to get a quick response as I would like to order before the month is up.
Thanks in advance!!
May 18, 2014 7:55:22 AM

I would replace the case with the Zalman Z11 plus it is a good budget gaming case with up to 7 fans!
m
0
l
May 18, 2014 9:14:34 AM

MrAlaweey98 said:
I would replace the case with the Zalman Z11 plus it is a good budget gaming case with up to 7 fans!


I have taken the Z11 into consideration but the case I chose is half the price and looks very sleek and simple, and the fact that it is half the price makes the build fit my maximum price exactly. If I could find the Z11 at a cheaper price (~£35) then I would definitely go for it.
m
0
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
May 21, 2014 9:09:52 AM

I'd up the boot drive to 240 gig- ideally you want to be able to store you're games on the SSD to improve loading times and at 120 gig you'll only fit the OS on there.

http://www.ebuyer.com/447256-kingston-240gb-v300-ssdnow...

Is a good option.
m
0
l
May 21, 2014 9:49:46 AM

cdrkf said:
I'd up the boot drive to 240 gig- ideally you want to be able to store you're games on the SSD to improve loading times and at 120 gig you'll only fit the OS on there.

http://www.ebuyer.com/447256-kingston-240gb-v300-ssdnow...

Is a good option.


Adding that would be £35 extra, making the total (without the monitor) £765. I may need a cheaper monitor or alternatively I could use my TV until I get more money...
Thanks for your input.
m
0
l
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
May 21, 2014 9:54:20 AM

Raw Berserker said:
cdrkf said:
I'd up the boot drive to 240 gig- ideally you want to be able to store you're games on the SSD to improve loading times and at 120 gig you'll only fit the OS on there.

http://www.ebuyer.com/447256-kingston-240gb-v300-ssdnow...

Is a good option.


Adding that would be £35 extra, making the total (without the monitor) £765. I may need a cheaper monitor or alternatively I could use my TV until I get more money...
Thanks for your input.


One option to save you some money would be ditch the after market cooler to start with- the stock cooler will be fine unless you're going to overclock (which I don't think you need to at the moment). You could also save a bit of money by going for the R9 280X instead of the GTX 770 (they are very similar in speed, but the 280X is cheaper + it has 3gb of memory instead of 2...).
m
0
l
May 21, 2014 12:17:38 PM

cdrkf said:
Raw Berserker said:
cdrkf said:
I'd up the boot drive to 240 gig- ideally you want to be able to store you're games on the SSD to improve loading times and at 120 gig you'll only fit the OS on there.

http://www.ebuyer.com/447256-kingston-240gb-v300-ssdnow...

Is a good option.


Adding that would be £35 extra, making the total (without the monitor) £765. I may need a cheaper monitor or alternatively I could use my TV until I get more money...
Thanks for your input.


One option to save you some money would be ditch the after market cooler to start with- the stock cooler will be fine unless you're going to overclock (which I don't think you need to at the moment). You could also save a bit of money by going for the R9 280X instead of the GTX 770 (they are very similar in speed, but the 280X is cheaper + it has 3gb of memory instead of 2...).


That does sound like a good idea, seeing as how I found out through a little research that Palit has a very bad RMA system and that seriously put me off them. However, my dad has come to an agreement to help me pay for the PC (since I won't have £0 in my bank account that way) and I can afford getting something a tad more expensive like the MSI GTX 770 rather than the Palit or the Radeon you suggested. What are your thoughts on this MSI card and tell me if you think you know of a better card at the same price (~£240 or ~$405)
m
0
l
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
May 22, 2014 2:05:46 AM

Raw Berserker said:
cdrkf said:
Raw Berserker said:
cdrkf said:
I'd up the boot drive to 240 gig- ideally you want to be able to store you're games on the SSD to improve loading times and at 120 gig you'll only fit the OS on there.

http://www.ebuyer.com/447256-kingston-240gb-v300-ssdnow...

Is a good option.


Adding that would be £35 extra, making the total (without the monitor) £765. I may need a cheaper monitor or alternatively I could use my TV until I get more money...
Thanks for your input.


One option to save you some money would be ditch the after market cooler to start with- the stock cooler will be fine unless you're going to overclock (which I don't think you need to at the moment). You could also save a bit of money by going for the R9 280X instead of the GTX 770 (they are very similar in speed, but the 280X is cheaper + it has 3gb of memory instead of 2...).


That does sound like a good idea, seeing as how I found out through a little research that Palit has a very bad RMA system and that seriously put me off them. However, my dad has come to an agreement to help me pay for the PC (since I won't have £0 in my bank account that way) and I can afford getting something a tad more expensive like the MSI GTX 770 rather than the Palit or the Radeon you suggested. What are your thoughts on this MSI card and tell me if you think you know of a better card at the same price (~£240 or ~$405)


Did a bit of digging:

Ebuyer have a PowerColour R9 280 X at £190 (!) Powercolour are a decent brand imo.
link:
http://www.ebuyer.com/614469-powercolor-turboduo-r9-280...

If you preffer Nvidia, there is a nice MSI card available for £230 which looks good:
http://www.ebuyer.com/631125-msi-gtx-770-gaming-le-2gb-...

Either would be fine- although I think for £190 that 280X is a nice deal...
m
0
l
May 22, 2014 2:17:39 AM

Don't buy a Kingston V300.

They are not very good, and seriously under-perform against their reviews due to Kingston being dishonest.
m
0
l
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
May 22, 2014 2:40:15 AM

calza said:
Don't buy a Kingston V300.

They are not very good, and seriously under-perform against their reviews due to Kingston being dishonest.


The V300 isn't that bad... I have one in a laptop and it performs fine. It's not nearly as fast in benchmarks as the Samsung EVO or similar but then again it costs much less and is still much much faster than a HDD. Also larger capacity drives are faster than lower ones (due to having more chips to spread the data across effectively increases bandwidth), so even a slower drive like the V300 will probably be quicker at 240gb than a 120gb EVO (at writes at least).
m
0
l
May 22, 2014 3:40:37 AM

For £10 more you can get an 840 evo though.

My biggest gripe is that Kingston changed the NAND between review and consumer stage without telling anyone and it seriously degraded performance. That's just not acceptable.
m
0
l
May 22, 2014 4:08:20 AM

Well if I took the 840 EVO, that would total up to ~£780 without a monitor. Which brings me to the conclusion that it's best to use my TV as a screen until I save up enough to buy a good monitor rather than a super cheap unreliable one.

Also, if you can, tell me your thoughts on the TeamGroup Vulcan RAM that I picked out. I read some review and articles saying that it is very good and is better than some more expensive RAMs, but I'd rather get the opinion of someone who know their stuff.
m
0
l
May 22, 2014 4:54:32 AM

It doesn't have to be an 840 specifically, it was just an example. Most of the main SSD's are a huge step up from the v300.
m
0
l
May 22, 2014 10:06:50 AM

calza said:
It doesn't have to be an 840 specifically, it was just an example. Most of the main SSD's are a huge step up from the v300.


I did a little searching and most people say Samsung is the best when it comes to SSDs, and the cheapest one that I found was the 840. I did find a Sandisk SSD at 256gb which is ~£10 cheaper, and I also hear that Sandisk is also a very good manufacturer. It's the Sandisk SDSSDHP-256gb-G25 in case you wanted to check it out.
m
0
l
May 24, 2014 9:17:28 AM

I have updated my build. This is what I picked out http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/3Q21X
The case is still the V3X, but since it's not on part picker, I put the cheapest one there (which is still £3 over the price)
This is hopefully my finalised version but will change if you see a problem with it.
m
0
l
!