$800 Budget Gaming Build

copakicker

Distinguished
May 25, 2014
I have done a ton of research over the last few weeks and I'm close to pulling the trigger on this build. I'm going AMD (great deal on a FX8320) and have most things in place with the exception being my GPU choice. I'm torn between either the Sapphire Dual-X R9 280x ($245) or the Tri-X R9 290 ($345). Here is my specs so far. To lock these prices I have to buy this tomorrow. I thought about throwing in an 240GB PNY SSD for about $100 (buy a storage hdd later) but I don't know if it is worth the extra $50 up front. Figured for gaming I want to put the most investment in the GPU. I know that the CPU is a decent overclocker but ill wait to get a Cooler Master 212 Evo before I start to push it.

I am brand new to all of this and would really appreciate some help before making this investment. Tom's Hardware has been huge on educating myself up to this point. Thanks in Advance!

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3QYbv
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3QYbv/benchmarks/

Prices w/ Sales and Rebates
CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($105)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($75)
Memory: A-Data XPG V2 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($55)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($55)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X 3GB Dual-X Video Card ($245)
OR: Sapphire Radeon R9 290 4GB Tri-X Video Card ($345)
Case: Rosewill Challenger-U3 ATX Mid Tower Case ($50)
Power Supply: Rosewill Green 630W 80+ Certified ATX Power Supply ($50)
Optical Drive: Sony 5280S-CB-PLUS DVD/CD Writer (Have Already)

Total: $635 w/ the R9 280x or $735 w/ the R9 290.

Solution
The R9-290 is definitely a strong card and the Tri-X cooler is great. It's up to you if you want to spend the extra $100 for it or not. For the price, both of them are extremely good. They're both about $50 under MSRP.