600$ or less gaming PC

xLINDZx

Reputable
Jun 4, 2014
hello,
i am thinking of building my first gaming computer. I'm not very good with the technical side of things like hardware and stuff, so i was wondering if i could have some help. I want to be able to run Battle field 3 and 4, Crysis 3, Far Cry 3, Watchdogs, Grand theft auto, and all those kind of games. I really do not care if the graphics are maxed out at 1080p or anything, just as long as it runs smoothly. I really dont know where to begin to look.

Here are my requirements
8-16 gigs of ram
500-1TB of storage
really nice graphics card
able to run those games up there smoothly

Id appreciate all the help i can get thank you all!

anthony8989

Distinguished
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD Athlon X4 760K 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor ($84.73 @ OutletPC)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock FM2A88M-HD+ Micro ATX FM2+ Motherboard ($64.99 @ Micro Center)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-2133 Memory ($84.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($54.43 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: MSI Radeon R9 270 2GB TWIN FROZR Video Card ($179.99 @ Newegg)
Case: BitFenix Merc Alpha (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($50.21 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: EVGA 600B 600W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($44.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $594.31
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-06-04 18:10 EDT-0400)

The Athlon X4 760k is a great overclocker - able to reach the mid 4Ghz range. The R9 270 is a great overclocker as well. That card can easily match the more expensive 270x which is a re-branded HD 7870 GE . This rig would be able to play most games at medium to high settings on 1080p fairly smoothly provided you overclock the GPU and CPU to the highest stable frequencies.

Solution