$1,400 Video Rendering PC

SplashHero

Reputable
Jun 6, 2014
I like to work with 3D rendering and some gaming, and I have a pretty loose budget. I already have displays, and other peripherals/accessories, so they are not a problem. Here is the build I chose:

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/SplashHero/saved/3Wm323

I have a few questions, at the bottom of the page it says that: Some AMD 990FX chipset motherboards may need a BIOS update prior to using Vishera CPUs.

I understand what BIOS is, but not much more than that, as I am fairly new to building computers. So what could I do to fix that problem when I get the parts?

Please feel free to leave a comment or suggestion, as I am sure that this is not a perfect build! Also if it can be avoided I would not like to raise the price any higher than it is already!

Solution
Alright, that helps a lot. Even though I think the difference wont be night and day, think you'd be better off going i7 4770k and amd hd 290.

My proposed build, well over your $1400 mark, but this would be ideal.
To save your $1400, you can easily drop the ssd and wd black and get what you need. Case I just picked what I have and love, but its all personal opinion and you could def save on getting a cheaper one. I picked good and speedy ram, which you should have 16gb of but you can easily drop some price on that as well. Cooling, you could get away with a $30 coolermaster hyper 212 evo, but the h100i will give you higher overclock cooling capability.

I just threw this together using ** components that you would need, and filled in...
A cheaper (but still high quality) and also modular PSU, a lot better CPU, more RAM (useful with rendering), a lot better CPU cooler, a more reliable HDD, a high quality motherboard for the CPU, and finally a cheaper but somewhat equal GPU:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($333.97 @ OutletPC)