$1000 School/Gaming PC Build (First Build)

ThePaulrus94

Reputable
Jun 30, 2014
Like many of you out there I've decided I want to build my own pc. I've been doing lots of research over the past few months and am learning a lot. However, I am by no means an expert and I need some more help. This site seems like a great place to show my rough build for gaming and school work. So I would like to have my pc to be roughly about $1000. That being just the tower and its parts. I am also going to need the extras like a monitor, keyboard, and maybe a mouse. I don't want to go much over $1250. I want it to play a wide variety of games ranging from Minecraft to DayZ to Company of Heroes to Assassins Creed. I am okay with playing many of the more modern games like BF4 and the AC series on medium to high settings as I can't play any games even close to that on my laptop. My laptop now is decent with an i7 processor, 8gb ram, but it has a crappy Intel HD 4000 integrated chip. It runs games decently but it could be way better. Anyways, I digress. Here is my build with some notes.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/pBN84D

Notes: So I have several questions. I want to have a good processor and video card that wont bottleneck each other. From what I've seen with other builds, the i5-4670k and gtx 760 are a good combo. I don't know how to overclock but would like to learn. I want to keep my graphics card nvidia since I've heard they're great. Things that worry me are what kind of rpms should I have on my HDD? Do I need a network adapters for internet and if so what kind? How about a sound card? I think some are built into motherboards but will I only be able to use headphones if I don't have speakers? What speed of RAM is necessary or practical? Is the wattage of the power supply okay?