Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

PSU which one would you pick need an opinion

Last response: in Components
Share
July 3, 2014 1:07:52 AM

I am looking at getting a back up PSU. Might upgrade in 1-2 years to but here is my rig
Phenom 2 6x 3ghz, 8gb ddr3 1600, 7950, Running 6 120mm fans 1 dvd drive and two hard drives.
Currently I have CX600M but it can hum pretty loud at times well what I consider loud so I think I must be stressing it. If I upgrade it will just be CPU, memory, motherboard and maybe blu ray drive. My video card will stay for a long while.
I am looking at another cx600 corsair.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
or thermaltake tr2 700 but I am not sure if this is the good one that's 80bronze or not apparently some say on Reviews like hardware secrets there is a new version that's 80bronze and much better then the original although this does say v2.3?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Thanks for any help don't really want to go to much higher these are on sale for 35$

More about : psu pick opinion

a c 133 ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 1:16:42 AM

CX are Corsair's low-end PSUs. While they do their job well for their intended use, they are poor at high-performance builds due to their poor build quality and poor capacitors.

If you are not going to CrossFireX, a XFX TX 550W is fine. It's not very expensive. If you are going to CrossFireX your HD 7950, then one of these: Antec TruePower 750W, Antec High Current Gamer 620W. 750W is overkill, but for the price it is now, it's a good deal.
m
0
l
Related resources
July 3, 2014 3:09:10 AM

well considering they are all 20-25 at least more and that's the very end tier B and the cx series is only t3 and it says still very reliable and solid the CX does not seem to bad. To bad I cannot the the HX series any more picked one up last year for 40$ 650 watt.
m
0
l
a b ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 4:41:28 AM

$20-25 more for a component that can easily save your other components from burn/damage under high load gaming scenarios is a bargain. Your call.
m
0
l
a c 307 ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 5:14:54 AM

bigal80ak said:
I am looking at getting a back up PSU. Might upgrade in 1-2 years to but here is my rig
Phenom 2 6x 3ghz, 8gb ddr3 1600, 7950, Running 6 120mm fans 1 dvd drive and two hard drives.
Currently I have CX600M but it can hum pretty loud at times well what I consider loud so I think I must be stressing it. If I upgrade it will just be CPU, memory, motherboard and maybe blu ray drive. My video card will stay for a long while.
I am looking at another cx600 corsair.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
or thermaltake tr2 700 but I am not sure if this is the good one that's 80bronze or not apparently some say on Reviews like hardware secrets there is a new version that's 80bronze and much better then the original although this does say v2.3?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Thanks for any help don't really want to go to much higher these are on sale for 35$


Hi - You need to watch the sites for sales. $35 won't get you a good quality 550/650 semi mod
right now. Someone will compe up with a deal in July, you just gotta watch.

Your cx600m is $55 right now, and I think you'd want to step up in quality.

The TT Tr2 series is not a series I would put in my own system.
m
0
l
July 3, 2014 5:40:22 AM

Which I am confused about you look at johnny guru and hardware secrets and the review those products as pretty darn good. But toms for some reason puts them down? with no real explanation? and the cx600 is 35$ I don't care about modular to me its pretty much useless. Just want a regular reliable PSU that's 6-650 don't think I would want to stoop to 550.

Thanks everyone for the help though.
m
0
l
a c 307 ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 5:52:06 AM

bigal80ak said:
Which I am confused about you look at johnny guru and hardware secrets and the review those products as pretty darn good. But toms for some reason puts them down? with no real explanation? and the cx600 is 35$ I don't care about modular to me its pretty much useless. Just want a regular reliable PSU that's 6-650 don't think I would want to stoop to 550.

Thanks everyone for the help though.


Hi - Actually, you wouldn't really be stooping with a good quality 550, as a sys with 1 - 7950 will run fine on a
good 500w. But, that's your call (I personally need a 500w for my sys & have a 650). The XFX 550 has only
two fewer +12v amps than the cx600.

What you're seeing with the posters on Tom's is a semi backlash to what "appears to be" a lessening
of overall quality below the AX/AXi series. They built a really good reputation, but have appeared to
mortgage it somewhat, with newer series not quite being up to the quality level of the series' they are
replacing.
m
0
l
July 3, 2014 6:11:39 AM

I understand the only reason I was thinking 6-650 was make it more upgradeable if I do go to more Power hungry system also my one now kind of gets loud makes me think it is being taxed pretty hard sometimes. The dust cover over it does seem to get a bit dirtier then my others and it is different brand might remove it maybe its airflow?

Ok Thanks for al the help I Use to have EVGA card and know they are Rock solid just saw. this for 40$ think I found my pick I know they say Raidmax is crap but there stuff always has nice specs but still I Might go with EVGA.
EVGA 600 B 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified 600W Active PFC ATX12V v2.31/EPS 12V v2.91 3 Year Warranty 100-B1-0600-KR Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
0
l
a b ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 6:16:29 AM

That's still tier four. Not recommended at all.

What we are trying to tell you that a quality 500W power supply easily beats any crappy 1000W PSU in performance. When it comes to PSUs, never try to cheapskate.
m
0
l
July 3, 2014 6:21:16 AM

Yeah I get what you are saying ok how about the smart series that's not on the special tier thatI am kind of iffy on I mean I would like some data but I do understand and know tomshardware is realiable. So what do you guys think about reviews on these products that say they are good then? Like johnnyguru andtech and hardwaresecrets I don't mean amazon or newegg reviews?
Still smart series any good?
m
0
l
a c 307 ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 9:01:35 AM

bigal80ak said:
I understand the only reason I was thinking 6-650 was make it more upgradeable if I do go to more Power hungry system also my one now kind of gets loud makes me think it is being taxed pretty hard sometimes. The dust cover over it does seem to get a bit dirtier then my others and it is different brand might remove it maybe its airflow?

Ok Thanks for al the help I Use to have EVGA card and know they are Rock solid just saw. this for 40$ think I found my pick I know they say Raidmax is crap but there stuff always has nice specs but still I Might go with EVGA.
EVGA 600 B 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified 600W Active PFC ATX12V v2.31/EPS 12V v2.91 3 Year Warranty 100-B1-0600-KR Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...


hi again - whatever else you do, DO NOT PURCH A RAIDMAX PSU, can't say
that strongly enough.
m
1
l
July 3, 2014 9:11:38 AM

yeah so I herd idk why but that's the word. Anyone know about the smart series? Thermaltake smart?
m
0
l
a c 307 ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 9:21:21 AM

bigal80ak said:
yeah so I herd idk why but that's the word. Anyone know about the smart series? Thermaltake smart?


Hi - Pick a specific model. Not too many of em have been reviewed. Some of em are OEM'd by
HEC which I would not recommend, most are OEM'd by CWT and a couple by sirtec.

With the exception of their toughpower series, the balance of the TT PSU line is mediocre at best.
m
0
l
July 3, 2014 9:36:14 AM

Thermaltake SMART 650W SP-650P?
m
0
l
July 3, 2014 10:15:00 AM

or else I found a supernova nex 650g for 50 or OCZ modxstream pro OCZ600MXSP for 49 the list says its really good if built after 2007 how could you figure that out? Or I might just wait for the corsair tx650 to drop down to 40$ again that was a steal.
m
0
l
a b ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 10:18:29 AM

This OCZ would be my pick here, sir. Unless you are buying used hardware, it is very unlikely that it is older than 7 years. You can check on the psu, there is usually a label with manufacturing date.
m
0
l

Best solution

a c 307 ) Power supply
July 3, 2014 11:16:01 AM

bigal80ak said:
or else I found a supernova nex 650g for 50 or OCZ modxstream pro OCZ600MXSP for 49 the list says its really good if built after 2007 how could you figure that out? Or I might just wait for the corsair tx650 to drop down to 40$ again that was a steal.


Hi again - The Smart 650p might be OK, no trusted review of it. It is OEM'd by CWT and not by
HEC which is a good thing. The Nex 650g is prob a better unit, at least it's gold efficiency vs bronze for
the Smart 650. I wouldn't consider OCZ at this point, I don't think another ompany has picked up their PSU
business from the bankruptcy proceedings, so warranty service/parts could be an issue.

If the TX v2 series were to be avail at a good price, it would be a sound choice. But, if you want to act now,
the Nex 650g is as good. Both the TX v2 and Nex 650g are discontinued for newer models, so might be
tough to find at least on the TX v2.
Share
July 24, 2014 12:23:25 PM

toyftw said:
bigal80ak said:
or else I found a supernova nex 650g for 50 or OCZ modxstream pro OCZ600MXSP for 49 the list says its really good if built after 2007 how could you figure that out? Or I might just wait for the corsair tx650 to drop down to 40$ again that was a steal.


Hi again - The Smart 650p might be OK, no trusted review of it. It is OEM'd by CWT and not by
HEC which is a good thing. The Nex 650g is prob a better unit, at least it's gold efficiency vs bronze for
the Smart 650. I wouldn't consider OCZ at this point, I don't think another ompany has picked up their PSU
business from the bankruptcy proceedings, so warranty service/parts could be an issue.

If the TX v2 series were to be avail at a good price, it would be a sound choice. But, if you want to act now,
the Nex 650g is as good. Both the TX v2 and Nex 650g are discontinued for newer models, so might be
tough to find at least on the TX v2.



Bought XFX Core edition 650 supposed to be good and made by seasonic or antec I think. paid 50$ for well 58 but it came with 16gb flash drive. Was that a good deal from NCIX? Seems like a really solid unit 5 year warranty.
m
0
l
a b ) Power supply
July 24, 2014 1:07:26 PM

It is made by Seasonic.

The CORE 650 is good if you have a large case since I just lay the unused cables of my CORE 750 on the bottom of the case.

The XFX TS 550 is currently $27 after $25 if you need another back up power supply

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...
m
0
l
!