Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question
Solved

Your expert opinion on my first gaming build

Tags:
  • Peripherals
  • Gaming
  • Amazon
  • Build
Last response: in Systems
July 28, 2014 5:20:59 PM

Hello, sorry if I have posted in the wrong section. So, this is my first gaming build, and I did my best to try to keep it around $1,000 USD. So here are my specs:






1) Enermax Ostrog ATX Computer Case, Black/White ECA3253-BW $39.99 on Amazon

2) Seagate Barracuda 1 TB HDD SATA 6 Gb/s ST1000DM003 $50.40 on Amazon

3) Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB DDR3 1600 BLS2KIT8G3D1609DS1S00 $144.99 on Amazon

4) Kingston HyperX 3K 120 GB SATA III 6.0 Gb/s SSD SH103S3/120G $74.99 on Amazon

5) Biostar B85MG LGA1150 microATX Motherboard $64.64 + $8.99 shipping on Amazon

6) Intel Core i5-4590S Processor - BX80646I54590S $189.99 on Amazon

7) TP-LINK TL-WN781ND Wireless N150 PCI Express Adapter $14.99 on Amazon

8) Asus 24x DVD-RW Serial-ATA Internal OEM Optical Drive DRW-24B1ST $22.18 on Amazon

9) Perixx PX-1100, Backlit Keyboard $54.99 on Amazon

10) Anker® Gaming Mouse, 7 Programmable Buttons $19.99 on Amazon

11) Apevia 700W Power Supply $39.99 + $8.99 shipping on Amazon

12) StarTech 1.5g Metal Oxide Thermal CPU Paste for Heatsink Cooling $4.13 on Amazon

13) EVGA GeForce GTX 750Ti Superclock (02G-P4-3753-KR) $139.99 on Amazon

14) ASUS VX238H 23-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor $169.99 on Amazon

15) Cyber Acoustics Subwoofer Satellite System (CA-3602a) $39.99 on Amazon

16) Monoprice 18-Inch SATA III 6.0 Gbps (108783) x3 $9.21 on Amazon (for 3. $3.07 individually)

17) AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable $5.99 on Amazon

I would greatly appreciate it if I may have your expert opinion on my build. The whole subtotal on Amazon is $1086.44 as of this post (I am well aware that some parts may increase or decrease in price over time.) I would also appreciate it if you made some suggestions to make my build of better quality while sustaining the same price. ie. better graphics card, about same price; better gaming mobo, about same price etc. Also please take note I would like to stay on Amazon. Thank you, have a wonderful day.

More about : expert opinion gaming build

a b 4 Gaming
July 28, 2014 5:30:22 PM

Drop the 16 Gigabytes of ram for 8, And use the money you saved to buy a 760 or a 770. your CPU Should never be more expensive than your GPU, As 98% of all games rely on the GPU more that the CPU. Drop the seagate drive for a WD Drive, as they fail less, And drop the apevia PSU For a 650 Watt SeaSonic PSU.
m
0
l
a c 256 4 Gaming
July 28, 2014 5:35:58 PM

pcpartpicker.com

doubtless you will find better prices

A non S sku processor and an H97 mb should fit your budget
2 x4 gig of RAM is enough for a gamer
you wont need additionalk thermal paster there is some on the ntel cooler and it is very good
the apevia power supply is poor quality . You need an 80+ bronze [ or better] unit of about 500 watts

Ideally do not use HDMI . DVI works better for a computer with external speakers
m
0
l
Related resources
July 28, 2014 5:43:34 PM

I don't think you need 16 gigs of RAM - 8 (2x4) should be fine. Use the $75 bucks to get better components elsewhere. Why are you buying thermal paste? The CPU kit will come with the stock fan and thermal paste. I don't think you need to go aftermarket unless you're OCing, and it doesn't seem like you're doing that (though if you wan to OC, you totally should).

You don't need a 700 watt GPU; I'd spend more money on a reputable brand for sure though. No sense spending $1k and then putting it all on the back of a questionable $40 part.

I think you can get better performance from other GPU cards with a bit more money...like an R9 270. Let me see...
m
0
l
July 28, 2014 5:57:00 PM

Here's what I got for you:

A better CPU/GPU combo (I built a system similar to this for a friend - its really good)

One important thing to remember, is never, never be stingy on the PSU.. an unstable/cheap PSU can cause failures, and even in some cases fry some of your hardware...

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($209.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($119.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($80.99 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($54.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 760 2GB TWIN FROZR Video Card ($239.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Enermax ECA3253-BW ATX Mid Tower Case ($39.99 @ Amazon)
Power Supply: Corsair CSM 650W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($74.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224DB/RSBS DVD/CD Writer ($21.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $922.89
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-07-28 20:59 EDT-0400
m
0
l

Best solution

July 28, 2014 6:12:52 PM

Take a look at this: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/JQyM4D

Reputable PSU, good gaming build. Stronger GPU, decent CPU, SSD, and I kept peripherals along your lines). And I made it all Amazon, even though I would shop around as you'll save some money. In particular, I was looking for a Windows 7 64bit OEM version, but Amazon doesn't have them (odd)?

[PCPartPicker part list](http://pcpartpicker.com/p/JQyM4D) / [Price breakdown by merchant](http://pcpartpicker.com/p/JQyM4D/by_merchant/)

Type|Item|Price
:----|:----|:----
**CPU** | [Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/intel-cpu-bx80646i54570) | $199.99 @ Amazon
**Motherboard** | [MSI H81M-P33 Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/msi-motherboard-h81mp33) | $53.06 @ Amazon
**Memory** | [Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/kingston-memory-khx1600c9d...) | $79.99 @ Amazon
**Storage** | [Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/kingston-internal-hard-dri...) | $59.99 @ Amazon
**Storage** | [Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/western-digital-internal-h...) | $58.00 @ Amazon
**Video Card** | [Gigabyte Radeon R9 270X 2GB WINDFORCE Video Card](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/gigabyte-video-card-gvr927...) | $199.99 @ Amazon
**Case** | [NZXT Source 210 (White) ATX Mid Tower Case](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/nzxt-case-s210002) | $34.78 @ Amazon
**Power Supply** | [Corsair Builder 600W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/corsair-power-supply-cx600) | $59.99 @ Amazon
**Optical Drive** | [Lite-On IHAS324-07 DVD/CD Writer](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/lite-on-optical-drive-ihas...) | $19.99 @ Amazon
**Operating System** | [Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro (OEM) (64-bit)](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/microsoft-os-fqc06950) | $129.99 @ Amazon
**Monitor** | [Asus VX238H 23.0" Monitor](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/asus-monitor-vx238h) | $169.99 @ Amazon
**Keyboard** | [Logitech 920-000914 Wired Slim Keyboard](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/logitech-keyboard-92000091...) | $59.99 @ Amazon
**Mouse** | [Logitech M510 Wireless Laser Mouse](http://pcpartpicker.com/part/logitech-mouse-910001822) | $24.99 @ Amazon
| | **Total**
| Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available | $1150.74
| Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-07-28 21:13 EDT-0400 |
Share
July 28, 2014 6:17:31 PM

Xavier Bouttier said:
Here's what I got for you:

A better CPU/GPU combo (I built a system similar to this for a friend - its really good)

One important thing to remember, is never, never be stingy on the PSU.. an unstable/cheap PSU can cause failures, and even in some cases fry some of your hardware...

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($209.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($119.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($80.99 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($54.98 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 760 2GB TWIN FROZR Video Card ($239.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Enermax ECA3253-BW ATX Mid Tower Case ($39.99 @ Amazon)
Power Supply: Corsair CSM 650W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($74.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224DB/RSBS DVD/CD Writer ($21.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $922.89
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-07-28 20:59 EDT-0400


Thanks. Do you think I could swap out the z87-g45 for the z97-g45 mobo? The reason I ask is because it has on-board wifi.
m
0
l
a c 256 4 Gaming
July 28, 2014 7:14:26 PM

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/cqrkWZ

Latest intel socket 1150 quadcore
H97 motherboard
small SSD for Smart response technology
1 terabyte hard drive
AMD R9 280X graphics card
quality psu
and a 24 inch LED back lit monitor

$1031
m
0
l
July 28, 2014 10:48:39 PM

Thank you all. It was a tough decision to pick the solution.

All right, mods, it's a wrap. Let's unravel this thread!
m
0
l