r9 290 crossfire trouble

ROCKSTARhjk

Reputable
Jun 16, 2014
WELL, i paired up a pair of r9 290s with cross fire enabled, both the cards are overclocked,the memory has been clocked to 1450 mhz and the gpu itself to 1100 mhz i dont let the temps hit more then 70 even when heavy gaming, now my problem is that i started playing tomb raider today and there are large patches of square boxes that are either dark or missing and the game stops with an error that the app stopped working but, when i turn off the crossfire mode, kaboom 70 + fps on 1600x900 everything cranked to extreme,now the same problem is with watch dogs what can be done so that i can utilize the other card aswell, i am very worried because i guess i wasted 500 bucks on a card that is just sitting in my pc doing nothing at all
and yes most importantly
i7 3770k 4.8 ghz
asrock z77 extreme 4
2 seagate 3tb hdds
gpu r9 290 (two in number )
power supply seasonic x1250
32 gb of corsair vengeance memory clocked at 1600 mhz

Solution
While verifying the cache for your Steam games is not a bad idea, that multiple titles are exhibiting the same symptoms makes it sound like the source of your problems are separate from the games themselves.

I'm glad BF4 is working well with your overclock, but each game engine can exert unique stresses on the cards, causing them to reveal problems that are there, but not affecting all titles you run on them.

Down clocking and running with two stable 290's is going to far exceed what you could gain by overclocking a single one.

I know from my own experience in overclocking my CrossFire pair of Tahiti LE cards, one will operate fine up to about 1250 MHz while the other is good to about 1225 MHz, and if I try for 1 more MHz on either...