4790 k Coolers, temps and overclocks

BradleyJames

Reputable
Feb 18, 2014
I have a 4790k with a Cooler Master Nepton 280l on it. Im just curious as to what other coolers people are using, and what overclocks and temps you are getting. Please reply with voltage. Ive been able to get mine stable at 4.7 with 1.26 volts. Im not sure if i can go higher, because temps are getting a little on the high side when running intelburn test. I know that intelburn will reach way higher temps than any normal computer usage will.

Right now, im sitting at 4.7, 1.26 volts. Intel burn reaches 85 celcius, while normal usage is about 65.

There you go:

CPU: 4790k
MoBo: ASROCK Z97 EXTREME4
cooler: H110
Case: Phantom 530 w/o extra fans
Room temp: 23C(w/AC) and 32-38C(w/o AC)

Current stable setup:
OC: 4.5GHz stable
VCore 1.25-1.28V
idle temps: 30-35C
Full load from gaming/ rendering: 60-64C
100% continous load from Prime95 small FFT: 67-71C

Max OC tried (stable):
OC: 4.7GHz
VCore: 1.31V
idle temps: 35-38C
Full load from gaming/ rendering: not checked
100% continous load from Prime95 small FFT: 69-74C

I am getting temps of around 30 degrees in idle and 65 degrees at 100% utilization in AIDA64 and in Prime95 I max out at 82 Degrees. on Core i7 4790K Asus Maximus Hero VII all bios setting at auto except for Core voltage which has been set to manual and dropped to 1.13. Processor running at 4.4GHZ

I have a corsair AIR 540 case with 3 fans pulling air in from the front and a Corsair H100 in push/pull chucking air out of the case and a rear fan also extracting air. Ambient temps outside the house is 22 degrees. Should I be getting better/lower temp values? I may just be fretting over nothing as my 2600K ran cooler at 4.4ghz than this and idle was in the 20's.

Kind regards,

vMax

kair153

Honorable
Jan 12, 2014
haswell are notorious for running hot : (