$1000 AMD Build (are there any bottlenecks?)

The_Ma5ter

Reputable
Sep 6, 2014
Hey guys! I have never built a computer before but my friend has. I've been planning this build for about a year now and I'm really excited! Before I buy it and build it though, I wanted your opinions. Are there any individual parts that will bottleneck and slow down my computer? Also, I've checked several times and am pretty sure that everything is compatible withe each other, but I'm new to this. Any hints or tips are greatly appreciated! Me and my other friend are going to compete with each other and see who can build the best desktop. Help me win guys!

Here is the URL: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/The_Ma5ter/saved/NshKHx

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/ptZRnQ
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/ptZRnQ/by_merchant/

CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($148.97 @ OutletPC)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($89.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($72.00 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($118.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($56.99 @ Micro Center)
Video Card: MSI Radeon R9 280X 3GB TWIN FROZR Video Card ($284.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Thermaltake Chaser A31 ATX Mid Tower Case ($66.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 620W 80+ Bronze Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply ($74.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($15.00 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($87.98 @ OutletPC)
Other: Wireless Network Adapters ($30.00)
Total: $1076.87
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-09-06 21:27 EDT-0400

A quickly made but much better PC than the one in your link

The_Ma5ter

Reputable
Sep 6, 2014