1600$ build, need help reviewing components

rentakelplakband

Reputable
Dec 27, 2014
This is my first build and was wondering is someone experienced could give me some feedback.
Any suggestions, corrections are welcome!
pcpartpicker: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/FdqM23

plaintext:
CPU: i7 4790k
CPU cooler: be quiet! dark rock
mobo: ASRock Z97 EXTREME6
memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB
storage:
* Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
* Seagate Barracuda 2TB
* Seagate Barracuda 2TB
GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 4GB
case: corsair graphite 780T
PSU: Seasonic X-650 or EVGA SuperNOVA 750.
In the long run I'm planning a SLI configuration. But in the meanwhile isn't 750 watt overkill for my build?

Solution
The build is really solid! The i7 is a beast and I don't even have to tell you about the 970. I would recommend one of the best z97 1150 boards imo the Maximus VIII Hero! Or ranger! The boards are extremely good for overclocking and everything else. That is the only thing.750 watts is a beautiful sweet spot! You can never have too much quality and power in PSU (you technically can). Gpus etc are getting more efficient but if you are planning to upgrade to sli and even x99 in the future. 750 is great

Rafi Khan

Honorable
Sep 22, 2013
Firstly, do you really care how much you spend or no? If you do and your main objective is gaming... then ALOT of money can be saved. It would help if you can describe your main usage before I make any recommendations that may be against your usage interests.

Thanks!

Rafi Khan

Honorable
Sep 22, 2013