£1200 gaming/work station pc build advice needed

bitesand

Reputable
Jul 12, 2014
budget - £1200
usage - writing essays, watching movies, playing mmos 4 hours a day, 3D rendering/sculpting
parts not required - keyboard, mouse, monitor

CPU - intel core i7 4790K 3.6GHz quadcore
GPU - GTX 780ti 3GB
RAM - 16GB
Hard drive - 250GB SSD
Motherboard - Asus Z87-A ATX LGA1150
Power supply - 750W corsair ATX12V
Cooling - cosair H55 57CFM liquid
OS - vista (im used to vista but very undecided, would love input)

I've been running the same pc for 8 years now. I've been gaming mostly on ps3 but that broke recently. I've got a strong interest in blender but my current pc cant render cycles (nvidia 6200 im not kidding). This will be my first ever build. I need advice on this.

Should I go for water cooling or stick with 3*80mm fans?
Is the 750W power supply overkill? will this be more expensive long term than a 600W one?
Would i be better off with a GTX 970 4GB GPU? which card is visually more powerful?
Can i SLI the motherboard with a GTX 970 and GTX 780ti together?

Solution
I would go for the 970 it's not worth the price of upgrading to the 780ti.
Psu is fine your not going to notice a huge difference on your power bill.
If you are overclocking you should definitely either water cool or buy an aftermarket cooler of some sort if not the stock cooler is fine.
No don't even try to sli two different cards it's a bad idea.
Windows 7 for sure newer is better in this case.
Hope you have an HDD laying around that SSD's going to fill up quick.

I suggest an ASRock Fatal1ty Z97 Killer nicer board imo and all 5 egg reviews with people who bought the 4790k
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157501

galactigus

Honorable
Jan 4, 2014
I would go for the 970 it's not worth the price of upgrading to the 780ti.
Psu is fine your not going to notice a huge difference on your power bill.