i5-4460 vs i5-4690k, which one to get for a gaming rig & future-proof?

Spoiler_co

Reputable
May 29, 2015
Hey everyone!

I'm trying to decide between the i5-4460 and the i5-4690k for a budget gaming pc, and I'd like it to last me for at least the next 3-5 years (so I won't have to upgrade any components to be able to enjoy new games that come out). I have no experience with OC.

Games I plan to play are witcher 3, star citizen, mgs5-- with preferably an average of 40-50fps at high settings (I'm planning to get a gtx 960 gpu).

Which motherboard would you suggest for either of the CPU? Is the MSI B85M-E45 motherboard with the i5-4460 a good combination?

Thanks in advance!

Solution

IamTimTech

Admirable
Oct 13, 2014
Neither is a future proof, the difference is that one overclocks and the other does not, clock speed is irrelevant between the two. The overclocked speeds of the 4690K overclocked will let perform about 10% faster than the 4460 which cannot be overclocked. That will not increase its effective lifespan though; both processors are going to do well until quad cores is no longer enough, and that shouldn't be for some time still. We are just now beginning to make use of multiple cores properly.

People still have i5-3570K and it still works great for gaming and that was the 1155 socket.

Keep in mind, the 980ti, the R9 300 series, broadwell and skylake chips have all leaked and are officially slated for no later than late August. Now really is the time to think about if you need a new computer now or if you can wait.

If you do want one now then get a Z97 board and a Pentium G3258 and then consider one of the Broadwell Chips. Those ships are going to run on much lower wattage and apparently are going to overclock like mad.

Complicated answers are what you get when you use terms like "future proofing"

pompusham

Reputable
Feb 15, 2015